We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a decent stay”
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013 for a weekend. The location of the hotel is quite good...quick walk to downtown. Therefore close to many restaurants. There is a pizzeria/lounge on the main floor which is quite good. There is free underground parking included.

We stayed in an outside room on the top floor, which is a good location. However it appears the hotel has some renovated rooms and some older rooms. We were staying with our family and had 4 rooms. The 3 rooms that our family stayed in were renovated and were quite nice. Tile and hardwood flooring, granite countertops or new carpeting and tile were included in the newer rooms. However our room was much older and therefore not near as nice. If staying in this hotel again I would ask for a renovated room! Our bathroom looked straight out of 1985 and the carpet was dirty and stained. If I had not seen the other rooms I would likely never book at this hotel again. It almost seems unfair to charge people the same price and some guests get a newer room and others the older rooms. The sheets in the hotel were nice and the pillows were good. The beds are quite firm...I prefer softer, but those aren't common in most hotels.

We did have difficulty sleeping as the guest in the room beside us was quite loud. We phoned the front desk, however their response was that they would do a walk by. We don't believe they did anything about it as we never heard the phone ring or their door open and thus, we just had to wait for the person to go to bed. Then we got the pleasure of hearing them snore. Note that we had an adjoining room ( not sure why we weren't given an adjoining room with our family, but instead were given an adjoining room with a stranger ) and therefore the noise was much more prevalent. Not the hotels fault they are loud, however our room was not very sound proof. Note that our family did not have this issue in their rooms ( not adjoining rooms ).

The sauna, steam room and hot tub are quite nice...not as nice as some other hotels in Banff, but still quite good.

Overall if we got a good deal on this hotel we would return.

Room Tip: Request a non adjoining room .... Unless you need one. The outside rooms have a better view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wicket2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Overall, it was a good place to stay. It was clean, there was good service, the rooms are reasonably nice. It's perfect if you're looking to spend the day out and about in Banff/the mountains. There's nothing that stands out as exceptional about it, but you don't need that if you're looking to spend the day out around the town.

We also stayed using a LivingSocial deal... that discount amounted to 50% off and was WELL worth the money. We were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SD3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

the Banff Inn was lovely about a 10 minute walk into Banff itself. the views were lovely.
the room had air con, tea and coffee making facilities. there was a spa there whih was a beautiful addition with a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The bed was very comfortable.
The hotel only does a cold unfelt breakfast so we opted to go to The Keg which was next door and have breakfast thee - not to be missed.
We were in room 106 which was just off reception so we could hear noise at times.
Wifi was free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Grabbed a loft room for three and it was great. Ended up staying an extra night and they were more than accommodating. Breakfast was included and it was great value. Good spot just on end of main street but within walking distance of the busiest areas. Thanks Banff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had our office staff + spouses stay in Banff for a bit of a reward weekend. The staff at the Banff inn were excellent, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. It was nice for everyone to meet down in Carlitos Lounge (the best pizza anywhere) before a night out on the town. Continental breakfast was a nice extra each day.
We'll definately look to do another stay here another time.

Room Tip: if more than 3 people, request one of the multi-level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rooms are okay. Outside facing rooms are pretty good. On the top floor, rooms with a loft are very nice. Inside facing rooms are average.
No in-house dining room, only a bar/lounge and a pizza delivery business. A good choice of restaurants within a 5-minute walk. A great steam room and hot tub.
Location not so great...About a 10-minute walk into Banff townsite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runawaywinterbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We've stayed at the Banff Inn both in the summer and winter season. There is a number of reasons why we keep coming back - the rooms are lovely and always very clean, the beds are really comfortable and the staff are delightful! My mom loves their free mini lotion as welll - we think it smells like pink grapefruit... :-)

They have a big hot tub and two saunas on the main floor, which is perfect after a long day skiing! The changing area/sauna area has been exceptionally clean everytime we used it.

It's maybe a 5-10 minute walk into the main part of town, but we like to walk after dinner so it suits us well. We found it to be a very quiet area, perfect for relaxing.

The free breakfast is actually very good as far as continental breakfasts go. They do serve hard boiled eggs, which is nice because we don't really eat toast, muffins etc. My only suggestion for improvement is to get rid of the styrofoam cups used for coffee/juice.


All in all we find the value to be fantastic and would highly suggest this hotel for anyone who values the same thing we do!! We love it here and will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenmonton-Motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £71 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing