We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We booked this hotel after reading some good reviews. Other hotels in Banff were quite pricey and we didn't want to spend too much on this one, so booked a suite with 2 rooms. The hotel looks great on the outside and has underground parking. It is a 10 minute stroll to the centre of Banff. Our suite consisted of a main room with 2 double beds and kitchenette, a seperate room with double bed and a bathroom with the strangest light ever. It was on a timer and went out if you were in the shower too long. The room was clean, but very small and the window looked out onto a brick wall. The wall was so close you couldn't even see the sky to guage the weather for the day. The hotel has a hot tub which looks quite new and was very nice. I wanted to use the showers there rather than in my room. If you like a good breakfast don't bother with this one. Breakfast is cereal in plastic bowls, coffee in plastic cups and toast or a muffin on a plastic plate! This was fine for us as we only had a light breakfast. The hotel had no atmosphere. It was peak season and lots of people were staying there, but we never heard or saw anyone. No-one used the bar. It might be different in winter. If I come back to Banff I won't stay here again, but wouldn't tell other people not to. I would definitely pay the money for a few nights in the Banff Fairmont!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    354
    168
    40
    36
See reviews for
224
311
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
168 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Was forced to stay here as was bumped from another hotel where I had made a reservation. Banff Inn is in a good location for Banff / town area. Rooms are average in decor but decent size and clean. There is nothing special or memorable about this place - it's just a decent place to sleep for a few hours if you're in the area. Front dek staff were very nice and quite helpful with directions etc.

  • Liked — location / cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Went ski-ing with Family, room clean but air condition very noisy if you are a light sleeper.Staff helpfull and located 10 min walk to centre, ski bus picks up at door ex.The bar was expensive and did not allow children in at any time except breakfast no happy hour and was always empty best go downtown for supper and beer (Tommies) overall great hot tub poor bar good location

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank stola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Second visit to the Banff Inn. First time was skiing with friends in December 2007, great deal for the loft, 3 double beds, perfect for a family. The hot tub is excellent for relaxing after a long day of skiing/snowboarding and the free breakfast is just right to fill up before a day at one of the hills. We skiied Lake Louise and the drive wasn't bad. The second visit was a girls weekend in February, had dinner at the Keg a block down and shopped the next day. Both times enjoyed the hot tub and breakfast.

  • Liked — Great cost & location
  • Disliked — No fancy extras
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rockychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Banff Inn for a week whilst skiing in the area. First thoughts of the hotel were good with a nice entrance with fire and welcoming front desk. The hotel was decorated nicely and not at all dark and dingy as some other reviews mentioned. The rooms were very nice and spacious withn all the facilities you need. There was a nice bar area which also served breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was a pretty basic affair, but as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant then you can't expect a full cooked breakfast. But there was a good restaurant two doors down that served a full breakfast if thats what you wanted. The hotel had locked storage for any ski's and also a big hot tub and steam room and sauna. The hotel is located about a 10min walk to downtown Banff where you can find some great bars and restaurants and plenty of shopping. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Banff which has some of the best scenery we've ever witnessed, a truely beautiful part of the world. The Banff Inn was perfect for our needs and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Spent the long weekend at this Inn and I was great!
nice renovated room ,with flat screens and modern decor
front desk staff was helpful and the complimentary breakfast
had everything you need to get the day started.
I would stay there again that 's for sure.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Bales8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2008

I have just returned from spending Christmas in Banff at the Banff Inn.
We were allocated this hotel on arrival at Calgary airport by our tour operator, and were very impressed; this was so much nicer than the last allocate-on-arrival we had (Bumper's Inn, further out of town on Banff Avenue).
The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained, with whirlpool and spa facilities just off the lobby, along with public telephones and internet access. There were also vending machines on each floor, which was great for grabbing a quick drink on the way to or when returning from a hard day playing in the mountains. There are full ski and snowboard locker located in the underground carpark, so no need to keep your wet equipment in your room.
The bar/lounge in the hotel was limited at best, but OK for getting a drink before heading into town for the night. I think the bar snack menu consisted of four items! But then with the amount of great restaurants in town (or the other hotels on the way) it didn’t really mater. The same goes for breakfast (ours was an extra $10 per person, per day, but you may get it included in you book direct with the hotel); limited at best. I can highly recommend The Keg@The Caribou Hotel, just two hotels up the street, where they served excellent food both at breakfast, and throughout the day.
My only complaints are that both the hotel corridors and the rooms themselves seemed a little dark. Both could do with brightening up.
The only other thing was that one of the four reception staff we encountered seem a little off. However as all the other staff were so helpful and polite, I can only assume she was having a bad day!

  • Liked — Location, price, clean
  • Disliked — Poor food choices
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Property: Banff Inn
Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing