We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel on March 22nd for one night. We booked it sorta last minute and we were glad we did.

The hotel has a different parking lot than the others in Banff as it is off to the side of the building, you need a keycard to open the door so make sure you check-in first. The parking lot itself was clean but rather small, it is a first come first served basis.

Check-in was alright, nothing special, the desk agent went through all of the appropriate information with us and we got breakfast coupons for the next day which was a bit surprising - unfortunately we had plans for breakfast and did not have a chance to use the facilities.

We were in room 207 and it was very clean. It almost looked as if the room had been through a recent renovation as everything seemed new. The bathroom was a bit tiny but was equipped with all of the necessities and plenty of amenities. The beds were great and not lumpy as the other hotels we have visited in Banff so far. The TV had a bit of bad picture quality but it seemed new and not attached to a hotel movie server as in other hotels so it was very receptive and not full of advertisements etc.

The noise was very minimal, upon returning to our room one night we heard our neighbors being quite loud, but after entering the room the walls had sufficiently blocked all noise - we had a very great sleep that night.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    341
    163
    39
    35
See reviews for
215
298
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I go on an annual ski trip to Banff, every year we stay here at the Banff Inn... there's usually about 60 in our group. The staff has always been very accommodating, the rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy. It's nothing special but it definitely is a nice regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emailgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed for a Saturday night during the height of the ski season. Hotel was busy but room was very quiet. Good sized room with king sized bed. Furniture was basic but functional and in good condition. No concerns with cleanliness of the room or bathroom. Large indoor hot tub. Underground parking was full when I arrived but got a spot later in the evening. The bar/pizza restaurant was very busy but had the best salt & pepper chicken wings I've had for a long time, only 1 beer on tap would have liked a couple of choices but that's a small complaint. Decent basic continental breakfast included in the room rate. Booked on-line and got a very reasonable rate for Banff. Not a luxury hotel but not at that price point either; and what do you need after a day's hard skiing? Have also stayed here a few years ago in a loft suite with our preteen children, again good sized and acceptable quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Banff Inn. The staff were all helpful and warned us that the underground parking filled up fast in the evenings so we didn't have any surprises. The beds were extremely comfortable and the price was right. It was great that breakfast was included and the selection was not bad. Great overall. Will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were greeted by extremely rude front desk clerk.
Asked if we could upgrade to a king bed instead of 2 queens. Told us it would be an extra $60 per night. When we apparently took a little to long to think about it as it sounded a bit high she told us that it was to late, room wasn't there anymore so to bad. Then we were greeted by a bathroom full of hair when we got into our room. Front desk staff said they'd mention something to staff but were unable to do anything about it at that time. After first night discovered that sheets were giving us a skin reaction of some kind. Again were told that they weren't able to do anything and that we just must have sensitive skin. We were stuck by the kitchen so asked if we could move and again were rejected and treated rudely. I will never be back at this hotel, will never recommend it to anyone as we were treated unprofessionally and just plain rude.

Room Tip: No room is a good room in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etownjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for a weekend. No complaints...room was clean upon arrival & although we arrived an hour prior to check-in time of 4, we were able to go straight up to our room.
Basic with mini fridge, small coffee maker and super-duper comfortable beds!
Continental breakfast was adequate (coffee not the greatest) but not a huge selection. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast or make use of hot tub.
I would stay here again. Friendly staff, convenient underground parking.
A no-frills hotel. If you want something super-swanky, this would not be for you but we were happy enough.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureNut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had an enjoyable stay here! The beds are very nice and comfortable after a day of skiing! The TV was brutal but who cares About TV. The hot tub/ steam room was awesome and also very refreshing apres ski. I'd choose this hotel again as the price was very reasonable and they honored the online discount!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trusty_Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Property: Banff Inn
Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing