We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful time I had here !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I was fortunate to stay here for 2 nights in September and had the same 3 couples at breakfast each morning - 2 from England and 1 from northern California. The conversations were lively and funny and a good time was had by all. Each of us ate at least one night at the St. James Pub - one had dinner there both nights it was so good.

Our breakfasts were excellent - Lynn is a great cook and one day was french toast stuffed with strawberries and the other was perfect little egg tartlettes-no crust (sorry Lynn can't remember what you called them) - perfectly presented with a thin slice of tomato cooked into top - very decorative.

Lynn makes all her own preserves - no pectin. We had a choice of blueberry, peach and raspberry and each was delicious! Fruit and toast - juice and plenty of coffee.

I stayed in the Cascade Room - nicely decorated - large bathroom with tub - spotlessly clean! A nice, relaxing chair where I read each evening and, although I never turned it on, there was a wall-mounted tv if you like to watch before bed. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby after wonderful long hikes each day. I really appreciated the antiques - especially the pictures of Banff in earlier days.

I would highly recommend this B&B - Lynn was also very helpful with advice on what to see and where to go - suggested Johnston Canyon as our morning hike before it got crowded and then to Lake Louise for the hike to Lake Agnes Tea House.

You can walk to town from here for dinner and there is parking at the rear for guests. Also, there is a lovely patio in the back. You will really enjoy your stay here -

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in July 2012. The B&B is beautifully decorated, extremely clean, comfortable and close walking distance to restaurants and shops on Banff Ave. Lovely home cooked breakfast with tea and coffee facilities available all day. Definately a better option than hotel accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent week with Lynn and Ecki in their wonderful home. The room and amenities were very nice and the breakfasts were excellent. The house is also close to downtown restaurants. They provided lots of information and recommendations on things to do in the area. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: talk to owner about options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Kind and gentle service by Lynne and we had great conversations.
Very high class King-size bedroom, furniture with taste.
Bright and clean washroom, hot shower.
FRESH breakfast, love it.
Just near Banff town center. Have private car pool.
Sure come back again.
By Cyrus from Toronto. 23 Jun 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyrusZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This B&B was a wonderful, friendly place to call home while visiting the beautiful sites in and around Banff. Lynne was a great hostess and Ecki had some great hiking ideas. Would definitely stay there again - close to main drag

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elleberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely home which is only a few minutes walk away from the main street. Room and en-suite very comfortable and homely with communal tea & coffee making facilities and fridge just outside the bedrooms. Lynne provided excellent home cooked breakfasts and delighted us with something different each morning. She was an excellent host and very helpful. Our grateful thanks to her for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

From our 1st email enquiry, Lynne&Eckie were the first to respond, and in all communications ( especially as we were going to arrive late evening) they were efficient,polite and very very helpful. The accommodation is in a quiet residential area with Banff main street only minutes walk away. Bow river a short walkable distance too. The room and the en-suite was spotlessly clean and well equipped. A coffee machine and kettle at the top of the stairs was a very welcome attribute. Breakfast was in a lovely downstairs room with a well laid out table. It was nice to have different people from different places to chat to over breakfast. The breakfast was varied and plentiful, no need to start your day hungry. Top,top accommodation and if we ever returned to Banff - we would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: feel that they all will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andi-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#17 of 28 in Banff
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 28 in Banff
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Banff
Mountain Home b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing