We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Get Away From It All"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This place is charming. Cozy log cabins, wonderful food in a spectacular location. I wanted a break from the norm and this is what we got. The cabins are rustic but surprisingly warm and well insulated. The beds are very comfortable too which did surprise me. The first thing you want to do of course is light the fire which is all laid out for you everyday so just strike a match to the tinder and add the logs, simple. As advertised there is no TV or kettles you really just switch off and relax. Inside the main lodge is a restaurant and cozy sitting area with a main fire and a wood burning stove. A good selection of drinks from a small but completely adequate bar. I was warned in advance to book dinner ahead of our stay which proved the case as the food is so good people drive miles just to eat at the awarded "Best Restaurant in Banff Park" Breakfast is very good too, try the homemade granola parfait and buttermilk scones! It really is good value for money our stay cost $199 per night for a basic cabin, the food and wines (Canadian of course) is not overly priced at all. Fantastic staff. Highly recommended by us! We travelled to the Columbia Ice fields 2 hours drive towards Jasper review to follow.

Room Tip: we have cabin 3 but cabins 5 or 6 is probably best for quiet and sun on the porch. Also drink the t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

The cabins are charming and have claw foot tubs and fireplaces. They are the real log cabin experience. We had a wine pairing dinner and all was fabulous. Very fine. We met a few couples that were just there for the dinner. They have a charming lodge with a bar and great gift shop. All of this with an amazing view of the mountains. This is a must stop. Stay if you can!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLaing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you want to spend a night or two high up in the Rocky Mountains, want to feel and see what it was like a hundred years ago, then spend some time at Storm Mountain Lodge and Cabins...quaint individual cabins set amongst the pines with spectacular views...a warm fireplace with lots of firewood...very comfortable queen size bed and for an added treat, dinner at the lodge is amazing...we enjoyed the wine pairing dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the bison and lamb!!! (highly recommended!!!)...Great Service, Great Location, Great Value...a must if you're in the Canadian Rockies!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DFowler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We spent one day of our honeymoon here and loved it ! The food, service and cabin was fantastic! Great deal we found in local paper for shoulder season. Included three course meal and accommodation which was very affordable. Main lodge was very welcoming as well as all staff including friendly dog that wanted to take us snowshoeing. Will definitely be back, we loved the wood burning fireplace and rustic atmosphere. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mkuz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have been staying at Storm Mountain for 30 years with my family. It is the ultimate peaceful getaway in the mountains. The restaurant serves amazing cuisine, we enjoyed scones and coffee in bed while watching the fire in our real wood fireplace. We went snow shoeing and enjoyed the lounge afterwards and warmed up by the fire with a nice bottle of wine.

Room Tip: There are cabins of several sizes, nice for friends and family to make trips together.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We just spent a 'winter weekend' in heaven with Storm Mountain Cabins. The bungalows are warm and cozy with a wood burning fireplace, comfy beds, no TV or radio...YEE HAW; just peace and quiet. They offer free snowshoes and have a path that even beginners can manage through the forest behind the cabins...one feels just like an early explorer, only on snowshoes that are easier to handle.
The food in the main lodge dining room is gourmet, the wine list excellent, the service wonderful. The decor in the lodge is out-of-this-world and takes many visits to take it all in, including the piano that guests can play at any time. The gift shop has some of the most unique items we have ever found.
We have visited this lodge several times in the summer with 'foreign friends' but decided to try the winter weekend 'away' and found 'heaven on earth'....it was wonderful.

Room Tip: I think all of the cabins are similar, very cozy and convenient to the main lodge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Forgot the Fairmont and any traditional hotel. If you want to stay in Banff or Lake Louise area this is the place to stay at. In the middle of the wilderness, in your own log cabin, with real wood fireplace and most modern amenities. This was a great place to be.

Room Tip: Try to get the cabins father away from the road.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
20.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
19.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
3.6 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
20.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing