We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had been for lunch a few times and wanted to stay for at least one night. Finally had the opportunity to do that with another couple and were not disappointed. The cabins are really lovely and the beds and pillows were sooo comfortable. The cabins were very sell set out and cool even though it was quite a hot night. The porch is great to sit for a drink or to read. Everyone was very accommodating and informative. The food is well thought out with some really different touches. Great presentation. The lodge has a wonderful atmosphere. We are looking forward to coming again in the fall for a different experience. Will for sure be back.

Room Tip: You do not need TVs or wifi here. I think that any cabin would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything that came from their kitchen was divine! Initially we were surprised by the prices, but once we tasted and realised how much love and attention was put into each dish, we stopped caring! The cabins were great too. Hopefully we'll be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Megan883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first visit to Storm Mountain Lodge, starting from the warm welcome at the front desk to getting settled in our cabin, what a great experience. The cabin was basically off the grid, which gave us a chance to rest, relax and enjoy the outdoors and incredible food in the main lodge. We loved the cabin, especially the bed, fireplace and nice deep bathtub. We would not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to book a cabin at the rear of the lot, away from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been to storm mountain roughly 5-6 times now. That should say it all. The cabins are wonderful, the rooms always have lots of wood supplied for the fireplace and it is very clean.

The food is ALWAYS the highlight of the trip! The chef is simply amazing at what he does. The restaurant has a lot of game meat, which my husband loves, I'm not one for game, however they usually have a few other options to chose from.

Hands down a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ccole1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Loved the log cabin
Lovely beds, warm and snug
Bathroom a bit small but we were fine for a family of four
Boys loved the sledding
Great place
Food good
Fireplace was great
We went in march which was quiet but suited us fine

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nidhipandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Storm Mountain offers a true wilderness escape from the hustle and bustle.
The cuisine in the lodge is some of the best I have had in Canada.
The log cabins themselves are truly unique and a little rustic.
Our cabin was cozy - there were no issues with road noise and our bed was very comfortable.
We had a waitress that went above and beyond, including delivering us breakfast to our cabin, I believe her name is Dana.
We will be back next year.
As a heads up - Don't pack clothes you aren't comfortable wearing around a fireplace. We had our fireplace in the cabin crackling all day and night and a few of my sweaters were a little smoky smelling when I got home.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It was our first time at Storm Mountain Lodge. We stayed just one night after a day of snowboarding at Lake Louise. The cabins were so quaint and cozy. The authentic style from when they were first built is preserved and you definitely get that curl up by the fire feel. The staff were all more than helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. We had dinner at the restaurant in the main lodge, AMAZING! A wonderful meal full of local and organic ingredients, a real taste of the Canadian Rockies. We had a few glasses of wine by the fire and hit the sack for an early night! You HAVE to spend an evening here if you are looking to relax! We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
20.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
991 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
15.2 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
19.9 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing