We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent three nights at this amazing place and would highly recommend it as a base to explore banff national park. The cabins are cosy and comfortable and really romantic. Each is secluded and comes with a pile of logs to light a fire in your cabin. Even though it was late July there is a chill in the air at night so it was lovely to retire to bed in front of a roaring fire. The restaurant is a fine dining experience with excellent food and wine. I had lamb rack and it was undoubtedly the best I'd ever had. Reservations are needed for dinner. On our first night we had no reservation so took an awesome sharing platter back to our cabin. Breakfast was great. Recommend the granola. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Our cabin was fairly close to the road but it was still quiet and caused no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank she57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    60
    13
    16
    11
See reviews for
36
196
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here after multiple days of backcountry hiking. The cabin was everything we hoped for and more - very comfortable with a fire place and cozy bedroom. All the wood for the fire was waiting for us when we arrived making our experierince seamless. The restaurant was delicious though pricey, definitely finish your meal with the apple crumble. If you're looking for an easily accessible mountain escape - Storm Mountain is the place for you. 

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JenHen_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Loved our 2 nights in our charming, authentic cabin. Did not use the fire place, since my husband has asthma, but the ambiance of the old fireplace was perfect. Dinner and breakfasts were great in the main lodge---especially liked the granola/fruit/yogurt parfait for breakfast along with the fruit muffin/scones. One night we just wanted a light supper in our friend's cabin, while we played bridge. We ordered a cheese and olive tray and, of course, dessert---which was brought to our cabin. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. When we wanted to change cabins, so we could be close to our friends, they were quick to please us. When I think of our 8 day trip to Banff and Lake Louise, I think of Storm Mountain.

Room Tip: You can hear highway noise from most of the cabins, but not after you close the doors. All of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just back from 6 nights at Storm Mountain. My perspective may be different than others that have shorter stays.

The service staff are lovely and the facility is relatively well maintained. There is a restaurant onsite. I would return.

The things to note are:
1) Although we were here in the summer and did not need a fire, there was a lot of residual smoke and fire smell in the cabin (even with the windows open), making it a challenge for people with asthma or smoke sensitivity.
2) The restaurant, although good, has a limited 4 entree dinner menu that only changes seasonally. That can get boring for a stay greater than 1-2 nights. The meals are generally heavy, making them potentially unsuitable after a day hiking on the trails, when all you want is something light before heading off to bed.
3) The mattress in our cabin was long overdue for a replacement.
4) Although I understand that the proprietor wishes to create a rustic feeling, some concessions have already been made such as modern heating and plumbing. I do wish that there was WiFi or a work station in the main lodge to check email and flights. (I noted that the front desk had internet access.) Coming from the States, I did not wish to incur large overseas fees to use my phone. As a result, my husband and I travelled to Lake Louise village to use the free WiFi at the lounge there. It was a huge waste of time and gasoline.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prunella224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had been for lunch a few times and wanted to stay for at least one night. Finally had the opportunity to do that with another couple and were not disappointed. The cabins are really lovely and the beds and pillows were sooo comfortable. The cabins were very sell set out and cool even though it was quite a hot night. The porch is great to sit for a drink or to read. Everyone was very accommodating and informative. The food is well thought out with some really different touches. Great presentation. The lodge has a wonderful atmosphere. We are looking forward to coming again in the fall for a different experience. Will for sure be back.

Room Tip: You do not need TVs or wifi here. I think that any cabin would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything that came from their kitchen was divine! Initially we were surprised by the prices, but once we tasted and realised how much love and attention was put into each dish, we stopped caring! The cabins were great too. Hopefully we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first visit to Storm Mountain Lodge, starting from the warm welcome at the front desk to getting settled in our cabin, what a great experience. The cabin was basically off the grid, which gave us a chance to rest, relax and enjoy the outdoors and incredible food in the main lodge. We loved the cabin, especially the bed, fireplace and nice deep bathtub. We would not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to book a cabin at the rear of the lot, away from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
20.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
19.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
18.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
20.3 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Property: Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing