We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Bow Valley over the years and this was my favorite hotel by far. I used to live in Banff and was not familiar with this property before staying at but my wife said it looked good so off we went.

First I love the location. Many of Banff affordable hotels are right down on Banff Avenue which can be very busy and loud day and night. I go to Banff for piece and quite not to listen to tour buses all day and drunk kids all night. The guest house is just across the Bow River in a quite residential area. It is close enough to walk to the town centre but far enough you cant hear any of it. It is placed at the foot of one of the mountains which means wildlife often come right down to your window.

We also like the friendly like family treatment we received from all the staff. There is a large open dinning area that has huge windows. This room is great for either talking to fellow travelers or just staring up at the peaks of the Rockies.

Just keep in mind this is a guest house and not a typical hotel. It looks to be a converted home so sometimes your bathroom might be just down the hall rather then in your room. Also it is an older building with creaky floors and a bit thin walls. You likely will hear your neighbours time to time.

Room Tip: On a busy day parking can be an issue. Just leave the car and walk to town or take the local transi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was truly a great find! The rooms are comfortable (13 rooms total), and the inn is well-situated with a great view of snow-capped mountains. It is close to Banff (downtown), the Cave and Basin, Sulfur Pools, and wonderful hiking and sightseeing possibilities. An ample breakfast was included as well. The owners are extremely cordial, and there is a 'laid'back' feel to this place. We will definitely be returning to this inn when in the Banff area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marikaS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Whilst the website looks exciting the service well, you have to experience it to believe it. We wrote to them to confirm that they would be able to accommodate us and our two kids. The first reply we received was warm friendly and exactly what you would hope to receive. The second which arrived the next day from a different member of staff was a blunt there is no room for you - no explanation. Confused? Yes - so we decided to politely double-check as there were definitely rooms still available. Sadly we never received the courtesy of any reply whatsoever!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went for a quick weekend get-away. Would normally camp but looked at the forecast and decided to stay dry when we weren't out hiking the trails. Was not looking for anything fancy but were pleasantly surprised with what we got. Quiet location within walking distance to town but far enough away to avoid the crowds, charming rooms, recently updated (en suites in each room), simple wholesome breakfast and staff that were friendly and interested in your well being but not overly intrusive. Older building so not necessarily sound proof but the rowdy crowds were not staying here. The staff had a get together one evening and it looked like they all enjoyed being there! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Pension took great care of us on our trip.
We advised them that we would be arriving before check-in time and they were able to prepare our room for our arrival which was a pleasant surprise. Staff was always available and willing to help.
Location - at most a 10 minute walk to down town Banff - totally acceptable and a pleasure for the eyes and senses while you travel
Price - After shopping around, very reasonable!
Breakfast - Very simple breakfast, but they have nice bread for toast and a good enough selection to get you on the road. Home made cookies were to die for, ask for the glutton free peanut butter
Room - We stayed in room # 7 which was spacious, had a great big comfy bed, a view of the trees to wake up to, and a fabulous vanity to get ready for a night out. Would highly suggest room#7.
Games room - well equipped to hang out in. Lots of board games, cards & wineglasses ready to pass the time.
Drawbacks? The room could has really use a blow-dryer and an iron.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am not a fan of B&B. It is often too cramped and the hyper friendly service often falls on my nerves. None of that here. My room was huge and very comfortable, the king size bed was good and everything was very clean. The service, friendly without being stuffy. The breakfasts are spotless (their coffee is delicious!) and the dining room is again very wide. For the price, it's a bargain! J'ai même eu droit à du service en français grâce à la charmante Geneviève!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The great part was that it is in a fabulous location, very peaceful and close to ski hills. Also, the staff are amazing and friendly! Also, it is very clean. The room we stayed in (room 9) was very nice and the jetted tub was spectacular.

On the downside, the breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Especially, 3 mornings in row, toast and boiled eggs gets old! With the other great things that this place has to offer, it is unfortunate that they don't up the ante a bit and offer a breakfast that matches. If they did, we would be back. Also, the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

I really hope that the owner/manager takes these comments into consideration because I would go back if the breakfast was better. Even if it means paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelling555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £54 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing