We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent lodge”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Family of 4 stayed this July. We found the room to be comfortable -- private family room. Watched tv in common room and common kitchen was clean.
We chose to eat in the Cafe the first night for supper and every night thereafter for our 4 night visit. The food was terrific, prices - beyond reasonable -- cheap. We couldn't feed a family of 4 cheaper and get the quality of food and service that we enjoyed. Chef and employees were cheerful and always had time to chat. There is an outdoor patio off the cafe. The cafe surroundings were welcoming. Please give this place a try and you will be back.
Winnipeg

Room Tip: Second floor was very quiet. Our room had a view of the patio. It was never too noisy because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    61
    39
    33
See reviews for
32
84
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Banff Y Mountain Lodge provides private accommodation in both single bed and double bed formats. This is a budget alternative somewhere between the upscale hotels and the dorm accommodations available at the Y or at the HI Alpine Centre. Be prepared for spartan but functional accommodations (bring your own shampoo) and try to get a room facing the back (river side) as the front road (Spray Avenue) is busy at all hours. The front desk people rotate often but are generally competent and friendly. Dave has been there longest and can usually resolve any issues promptly.

Rates are variable, depending on the season and the weekend. We have had rates as low as $59 including a toast-and-coffee breakfast and as high as $135 with no breakfast. You may be able to beat the rates posted on the internet by calling direct (+1-403-762-3560).

The location is accessible to all the Banff Avenue businesses and bars with just a 5 minute walk across the traffic bridge or 10 minutes over the new pedestrian bridge taking you to the heart of downtown. Also from the hotel it's only a 5 minute drive or a brisk 20 minute walk up to the Cave and Basin Hot Springs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We'd like to give a fair review of this hostel, as there were some really strong points. Unfortunately there were also many negatives which mean we wouldn't return.

First off, the staff were so friendly and helpful. They all seem to really care about their job, and are quick to help when needed. We had a slight problem with our shower, and they resolved it very quickly and politely.

The price is reasonable for the area, and you know it is going to a good cause. The location is great - a 5 minute walk down one road and you're in the centre of the town. Perfect.

Unfortunately, the other guests ruined our stay. Being a big hostel with 24 hour access, we were woken every hour by big groups of drunks partying in the hallway. Whilst that might not be the hostel's fault, we felt they should have better control of their corridors - one member of staff on one of the nights eventually asked them to be quiet, at half 4 in the morning. There are chairs and tables in the corridors, which just fuels this further.

We were also woken one morning by a group meeting in the courtyard at 7am - after being awake all night, again the complete lack of noise control was frustrating. On our last morning, the maintenance men decided to start constructing bunk beds outside our room at 8am, again not appreciated after being kept awake all night.

The rooms were a good size, though our mozzie nets were broken. In fairness we didn't complain about this, as we didn't realise both were damaged until our last night, but it meant we couldn't open the windows so our room became an oven.

As the other reviews mentioned, the wifi is practically non-existent, though I have no idea how it compares to other wifi access in the area. They are surrounded by mountains, in all fairness.

Overall the lack of sleep was enough to drive us away, though whether that's the hostel's fault is up to you. Can't fault the staff or location, wish we could have given them a better review.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbsmuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The wifi doesn't work most of the time and when it does it's slow. I ordered an omelette at the cafe and after waiting for an hour I had to walk out without it to get on a tour bus.

The rooms themselves were basic but ok.
Location is good, nice 10min walk to town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a four person dorm with friends, facitlites were good; laundry, kitchen, cafe. Great location with five minute walk to Banff centre. Beds were comfortable but room was quite dirty and unloved with tissues and doritos on the floor to greet us. Otherwise a great backpackers location with helpful staff.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurajane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have just stayed at the Y in Banff for 5 nights and you get what you pay for, no fripperies or what not. However, for the price, I cannot complain - CAD $35 a night got me a clean, tidy dorm room, washrooms, bedding and a towel. The staff are all super lovely and extremely helpful, and when asked, had plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to see. I am very pleased with the accomodation, I booked everything online in Australia and even though I arrived late due to transport issues, check in was no problem. Highly recommend as an affordable option when you just need the basics!!! Good location for getting around too, easy walk to downtown Banff and most of the tours are happy to pick you up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you're looking for a sober and decently priced accomodation at a convenient location near the center of Banff, I recommend the Y. I stayed there at a single room for a couple of days in May; the room and facilities were up to my needs. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Rescheduling wasn't a problem, so I had some flexibility while travelling around the area. What I liked about the Y is its involvement in community projects, which gives good opportunities to gain some insight in local issues.

Room Tip: In the rooms at the river side, the Bow River's rushing guarantees a constant lullaby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorbertNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
0.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Property: The YWCA Banff Hotel
Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing