We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, outdoor orientated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fair price, outdoor orientated”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed three nights and really appreciated the place. First, there was n o TV in our room - who would come to Banf to watch TV ?!? The view from our room was just perfect. The place is very close to the town center. Both tourists (as us) and seasonal workers mix up in the buiding. The kitchen is large enough for everyone to cook - not just throwing noodles into a microwave. Staff was friendly. The reason why we came to Banff was the price ($100 for two nights, including a light breakfast), have a look at their website to find out about specials.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    61
    39
    32
See reviews for
32
83
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Y is trying hard to extend its customer range...free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast for private room occupants, an excellent team of friendly attentive staff, a great location and all for a good charitable cause.
However, to bring greater success to the cause they need to look hard at the facts.
Our "double" room was tiny. Small bed only made up once during our 5 day stay. No TV, no fridge, one broken chair between us, a broken blind which couldn't do it's job even if it was repaired and woefully inadequate lighting.
Worst of all was the communal kitchen in the basement. It was filthy, with open waste bins, no separate hand washing facilities and a dire need of a regular deep cleaning program, supervision of Lon and short term guests standards of hygiene.

We stayed at the Y in Vancouver about 3 weeks earlier and were impressed by the high standards achieved there. Perhaps someone in a position of authority at the Banff Y could take a hard look at both operations and make the necessary changes for the long term benefit of the worthy cause.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackandwhitecat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

No TV in the rooms....was an old hospital and there are parts that still seem like it......our room had a couple of light switches.....but they were outside the door. Location is excellent, as is the price! Really easy to walk to the downtown and many hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank MAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I were having a hard time finding anything in Banff that was under $200. When we located this one for considerably less, I guess we should have been a little more skeptical. It was late in the day, however, and we were tired. It reminded me of a very large hostel. There were chairs, beds yet to be put together, and many other assorted items stacked in the hallways. I'll have to say the room was not that bad. It was large (and well worn) but was pretty clean and had the necessities. That is, except air conditioning. I'm pretty sure the temp in the room never dropped under 80 degrees the entire night. Admittedly, it is unseasonably warm this fall, but the place is definitely geared to the younger crowd, who probably wouldn't even mind the heat. I guess my main complaint is that is was not properly described for what it really is. We should have read a few more of the reviews!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice room - 2 double beds, we had no sink, but our friends next door did (and bigger beds!). Rooms were hot, we had both windows fully open. Everything was very clean, but there were only two bathrooms with showers on the whole floor (plus two more toilets near the cafe). Nice happy hour prices in the cafe for drinks although they didn't have much in stock! Nice big kitchen in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Inexpensive by Banff standards with a pretty good location, one must be mindful of the following - it is/was a YWCA, and thus the basement is a dormitory filled with teenagers and twenty-somethings from Allah-knows-where. I had the misfortune of having a front room (319) and thus had to endure the gaggles of giggling and squealing girls passing by at the close of the bars, as well as "the boys" returning home to their basement den, grunting loudly and primordially into the chilly 3am Canadian air. Their conversations cut through the wall like flatulence through a silk sheet. In short, ask for a back room. Parking is tough ... much of the parking lot is marked as "tow away zone", which is interesting. Internet is spotty and slow. All that being said, the coffee was good and reasonably priced, the people are nice, and the price and location are good. If you can get a back room and leave your car here after finding a spot in favor of walking into town, I say go for it. Avoid the basement, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Pros:
• I loved our room- we had a suite with 2 large double beds, desk, bathroom (shower, toilet and sink) and a great view of the mountain. Everything was pretty clean!
• Cute touch bed-side lamp, modern for a hostel.
• Very comfy mattresses with clean sheets.

Cons:
• Although Hotels.com charged me the full amount upon booking online in March, the front desk (I am not sure if they knew about this already) charged me again when I checked in. I should have remembered but they should have known in the beginning. Will wait about a week or 2 for a refund.
• HORRIBLE wifi- they do this archaic system where you have to get a unique username and passcode and no device can use the same code. Weird! They must modernize this!
• Albeit being clean, there was a faint smell of feet/fungus
• There are no electrical outlets by the desk area, so you can only use your laptop on the bed or in the bathroom.
• The common rooms and first floor lacked in personality compared to other Hi Hostels.

Recommend this hostel for the affordable price ($106/night). Hope they fix the infernal wifi and the other stuff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnL148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Property: The YWCA Banff Hotel
Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing