We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much noise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too much noise!”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We were greeted by a hired staff person who was very nice. She showed us around and made us feel welcome. She let us put fruit in the refrigerator and showed us how to make coffee or tea for ourselves. She was the one who served breakfast in the morning. The bedroom and bathroom were clean. We never did meet the owners though they lived upstairs. Since our room was below the family living area it was subjected to noise from footsteps on the floor above our heads. Someone was up late into the night and sometimes in the middle of the night. Since we toured during the daytime, our primary purpose for staying at this B & B was to get some good sleep at night. Due to the noise from above, we could not sleep and would not recommend this B & B to anyone for that reason.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Noise while trying to sleep
Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sentimental01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

The place was ok, clean and room was just average B&B. I had no problems during my visit and the owners were friendly and helpful. But there was something missing compared to other BBs I stayed in this country. The breakfast was quite poor, only some sereals & muffins, for 145 d/night I would have expected a bit more. And breakfast was finished before breakfast time ended and all the people didn`t get it. There was nobody to serve it at the time I was there, so you just have try to find something by yourself, whish was a little odd.

But anyway, it is not a bad place to stay, but just very average and a bit pricey for value, especially if you are used to tasty breakfasts that BBs often have.

  • Liked — Location, clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast, thin walls
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudya095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Stayed here for 5 nights in September 2006. Literaly minutes walking to centre of Banff. Nice street. nice place. Spotless clean. The owners employed a couple of Japanese girls to basically look after the guests. Lovely girls, really chatty but it just missed that personal touch from the owners that I'd be used to in B&Bs in Ireland and breakfast was grand would've liked some hot food. The owner makes a rule of no guests are to bring their own food into the B&B. Which I found a bit annoying considering breakfast is basically Cereal and tea or coffee with cakes. So if there is no food to be brought in how about giving real food as part of your service. Also when booking by e-mail. replies we're very short and not very welcoming. I just got the impression I was an inconvieniance to whoever was I mailing to. I don't mind spending a few quid. But, to me the place was good location, really clean, nice room, cheapskate breakfast and not much personality and the price just didn't justify itself. But I wouldn't not recommend it, I'd just look elsewhere before I'd say 'ah this place will do the job' i suppose.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — CHEAPSKATE BREAKFAST, NO PERSONALITY, OVERPRICED
  • Tips/Secrets — LOOK ELSEWHERE. BUT, YOU CAN'T GO FAR WRONG
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 May 2006

Stayed 2 days at the Banff Squirrels B&B. Very clean and comfortable. We were well taken care of.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 December 2001

We stayed at the Banff Squirrels Nest in June 2000 for 4 nights. The owners were friendly and helpful, the accommodation very clean and comfortable. It is located a few minutes' walk from the centre of Banff, yet situated in a relatively quiet residential side street. The self service buffet style breakfast was excellent, and guests have the use of all kitchen facilities. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Banff Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 3891 | 332 Squirrel Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing