We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For The Photographer or Tranquility Seeker, This Lakeside Drive Is A Must!”
Review of Vermilion Lakes

Vermilion Lakes
Ranked #8 of 83 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 951 helpful votes
“For The Photographer or Tranquility Seeker, This Lakeside Drive Is A Must!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just after sunrise or the hour before sunset Vermillion Lakes Road is a photographers dream. You will find a tranquil lakeside drive, goregous mountain views with lake reflections, beautiful small docks and sitting areas. NO BUSSES. The area is stunningly beautiful on a clear evening with scattered clouds...atmospheric and mysterious on a rainy misty day. The sound of lapping water and birdsong soothes the soul. A hike along the road is always enjoyable and easy. There are no restroom facilities however.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllenM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    257
    86
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
strathmore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sound of music”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time driving along this route. We got out of the car a few times to enjoy the sounds of the birds singing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hardette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Gorgeous”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very peaceful. When I look back at my honeymoon in Banff, the first thing that comes to mind is these lakes. They are so calm, yet so mesmerizing. Not crowded at all, not many people ever go here, mostly locals actually. Which makes it even better. It's just 10 minutes away from the town of Banff, and when my husband I return here for our 10th wedding anniversary, I will definitely spend a few hours here with him. I actually went here in May 2012 but I just started writing reviews on tripadvisor recently....and right now I was kind of stressed out and thought about these lakes, as the memories of these lakes always calm me down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachse, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
431 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful lake with nice boat docks.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The lake is beautiful and peaceful. There are a few nice and small boat docks, and chairs to view the mountains. It is near Banff downtown.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty lakes around each bend”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a lovely, short drive right outside the town of Banff. Vermilion Lakes might be called meandering ponds. It's the mountains surrounding them that provide a beautiful setting for the ride that takes about ten minutes but is delightful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MSBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vermilion Lakes also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Vermilion Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing