We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and challenging”

Banff Springs Golf Course
Ranked #10 of 39 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful and challenging”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The golf course is definitely one to play when in Banff. We started with a breakfast at the club house then enjoyed a round of golf on this challenging course with many bunkers! The water in and around the course was beautifully used.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    54
    12
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Sad State of Banff Springs Tunnel 9”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Wife and I had a couple of hours to get in some golf at this world class golf resort. What a waste of time, money and nature's gift of a setting.
This is at best a poor version of a forgotten municipal golf course.
I apologize to any and all city courses for I have played some amazing golf under municipal rule.
To con newbies into thinking you might be playing a 9 hole version of Banffs'
18 hole championship classic and charge a fee of $100.00.
"Robbery on the High Greens".
You should be ashamed. Nature has given you a spectacular setting which you have laid ruin. I'm sure your designers never thought their work would be allowed to fall into such disrepair. Sent

Helpful?
3 Thank William C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“golf with the mountains”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We paid $230 for two of us on a promotion for perhaps the greatest golf ing day of my life. Each hole is surrounded by beautiful trees and has views of the Canadian rockies. There is heavy bunkering on every hole and the sand is truly penal, being both heavy and soft and difficult to get out of(for me). The greens were running fast but not super lightning and they were very fair. The entire course is a very fair test of golf. Given that there are at least half a dozen holes I will always remember(and I have played Pebble Beach, St Andrew, Carnoustie, and many others, I call this one of the great golfing times of my life. The greens fees are steep, and this is a negative, but if you have $230 to throw away(or $110 x 2 golfers with a promo from the Fairmont Banff Springs), I recommend this to all golfers who enjoy experiences they will remember for a long time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank baybee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good course”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Challenging course with beautiful views. Preferred the gold course at Jasper Park Lodge with more forgiving greens.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel09Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scenic golf doesn't get much better”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Awesome views and good course design make this a must-play for serious golfers. The price tag is way over-the-top, especially when you add in club rental, but no regrets in choosing to play. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the course was in great condition. Beware of the high-lipped bunkers...get in the wrong one and it's a stroke for sure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing