We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation lunch”

Squish Sandwich Cellar
Ranked #65 of 156 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: Artisan Sandwich Bar on Banff Ave, boasting house roasted meats, traditional Montreal smoked meat sandwiches, and a daily grilled cheese!
Restaurant details
Description: Artisan Sandwich Bar on Banff Ave, boasting house roasted meats, traditional Montreal smoked meat sandwiches, and a daily grilled cheese!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great sandwich shop. Very good service.
Not crowded. The did was excellent. Definitely reconned this place.

Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquishBanff, General Manager at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review. We strive to achieve good food and service so when I hear this from our customers I am thrilled.

Squish hopes to see you in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I were in a rush to eat, so we thought this sandwich place would be a fast turnaround, but we sure were mistaken. The food took a while to get to us (considering it was a sandwich). I REALLY didn't want to like this food...but once it came out, I was stunned with the awesome flavor of my tunafish sandwich. It had a lot of flavor going on with the tomato, cheddar, and peppers. My gf's sandwich was also really good. I left very happy as a foodie. Would definitely recommend this place if you're in the mood for a sandwich, but don't go expecting fast food like subway.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FooserX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquishBanff, General Manager at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review. I do apologize for the slow service. As a dine in restaurant we strive to have our customers food on the table in under 12 minutes but unfortunately this can sometimes be longer. We do not claim to be a fast food restaurant nor do we want to compete with Subway.

Again, I do apologies. I am thrilled you enjoyed the tuna as it is of my favorites! If you get into Squish again please introduce yourself as I would love to treat you to another great sandwich.


Sincerely,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

FUN sandwich restaurant located downstairs "cellar" EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE.
Stop by have a sandwich and a drink for lunch and play a board game too!
Kinda of reminds me of Cheers Bar. The new management is waiting to meet you so stop by and say hi.
EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE, you will be so happy you found the hidden gem.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goaliegirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Never would go here again. I got a poutine from here and it was awful. It was oven baked and i thought just MAYBE it would be good and a little different. It’s AWFUL. it’s $10 and it’s not even a decent size!!!!! WTF!!! the fries were so over cooked they were basically hollowed out crips. i’ve lived in Banff a long while and barely have complaints about the food here. But come on. $10?? for dried over cooked fries lol this is a Canadian dish!!! LEARN TO MAKE IT BETTER. Why pay this much for a dish when there’s no quality or quantity. Save your money as a tourist and go somewhere else. Many places around here have amazing sandwiches with great sides and more options. I tried to come here and give it a shot but they barely even have any good vegetarian options. In this world today, there should be more options. Truly disappointed. When the waitress even asked me if i was eating there and i said no, her whole attitude changed towards me. Will not be going here again. So many other places have amazing sandwiches with sides and for cheaper. Not worth the price. Not worth my time. If anyone else needs to see about their food, look on Google. They barely give you what you paid for. Try Good Earth, Nourish, Coyote or even Toloulous. Don’t waste you money here. This is not what food is. This just a scam. The sandwich deals are way more money than you’d find at the places i listed. Tourists!! you guys are our fight around here. Spend your money wisely and don’t waste it here. Just look at Google. Please.

Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquishBanff, Owner at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Sarah,

I have responded to your recent critic on Facebook. As I mentioned, please drop in at anytime and we will gladly reimburse your $9.00. We have had overwhelming response to the poutine hence it is one of our top sellers. However I do understand everyone's tastes are different. As a Banff local myself I wish you would have come to us to deal with this situation at the time. I would hope the locals would all root for each other and try to encourage relationships that will better the town as a whole. These platforms (FB, Trip Advisor) do not allow communication that will improve small businesses. When you drop in I hope you will stay for a free lunch. We will build any sandwich to our customers specifications. We are gluten friendly and will gladly work with customers to build a vegetarian option if asked. I hope to see you soon. Sincerely Squish Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We had a quick turnaround and needed a quick place to stop. The sandwich only was around $13 CAD.

A little joint in the basement of the shopping area. It took about 10-15 minutes to get our sandwiches.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquishBanff, Manager at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for your review!

We appreciate all feedback to ensure we are always giving the highest quality sandwich.

Regards,
Squish Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing