We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have stayed in banff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst place I have stayed in banff.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Lloyd Hall for a conference. Room has no air condition, vey basic accommodations, you can feel every spring in the bed, hangers have nails sticking out that snagged some clothes, beautiful view of a dumpster and parking lot. Duct tape keeping the carpet down in several locations.
Work booked me here for the conference and would never stay here if given the choice. I stayed in the main building last year and the difference was black and white. The main building has king size beds flat screen Tvs and feels modern this building not so much. There is a nice smell of musk and age in the halls that made for a riveting experience. Tried to move rooms but nothing available. Wanted to cancel when I saw the room but the 48 hour cancellation policy was not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austic403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    110
    23
    30
    15
See reviews for
44
66
9
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was very impressed by the location (of course) but also by the service at the Banff Centre. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with my phone and it was resolved quickly. You have food options at the centre if you do not want to walk to town. The walk is only 10 minutes through a trail. The website was not clear about this but I found out that being a guest gives you free access to the fitness centre which is very well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitinefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponoka
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The conference facilities are good, the hotel is ok. nothing too special. There is wireless internet and it is very fast. The view here is spectacular.

Helpful?
1 Thank Will577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed in one of the newer rooms in the PDC. Great room, layout and also couldn't beat the view. Bit of a walk for breakfast, but that was my own fault for getting up late. But, how do you complain when your looking at Tunnel Mountain in front of you. Rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed, nice amenities. It really is a hidden gem while in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I was there for a conference.
Very good food and a very nice room.
I stayed for 2 nights and I felt very comfortable.
The view up there is amazing! You can eat seeing the mountains...it's very beautiful!
I would recommend to anyone...

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank juckleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed again this New Year's at the Professional Development Centre at the Banff Centre. Have stayed here many times and find this the best value for dollar in Banff. Not in the town centre, we like it because it is a little off the beaten track and consequently quiet. You need a car if you stay here, even though it is less than a 5 minute drive to the centre of Banff. The staff is efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms are not exceptional and are a tiny bit worn, although I understand they are slowly renovating all the rooms. They are, however, clean and perfectly acceptable by any standard.

Room Tip: The executive king suite is a bit overpriced at $215/nt but after renovations are done, it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Back to basics - a very small clean room, but with the little extras that you get at a chain hotel - lotion, shampoo etc. The beds were twins (pulled apart from a King) and were very comfortable. The locale is stupendous - the hotel (lodge) is in an isolated woodsy area above the town of Banff. I would definitely stay here again - in the summer when several hikes a day would build up your appetite! We only tried the expensive Three Ravens restaurant that I will review separately, but there are other dining options so that you don't have to go "down the hill" to eat. We also had a tiny fridge that held our breakfast items.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicsmomCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

Property: Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity exists to inspire artists and leaders to make their unique contribution to society. Located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, Banff Centre offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. Banff Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. Banff Centre's inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing