We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cascade Gardens

Cascade Gardens
Ranked #22 of 76 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I like gardens in general. Cascade gardens are small, but very nice. And there is not entrance fee, i.e. it's free. Despite the cold weather we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    91
    33
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stumbled on this by accident. It is totally worth going out of your way to see. It is not simply a garden with numerous gorgeous flower beds. It also has little rock bridges and paths and little wooden gazebos and benches. It is a delight. My husband is not one to be dragged to too many gardens and he was as delighted with this as I was.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Experience78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,614 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,305 helpful votes
“Someone needs to fix the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a beautiful garden that does cascade down the hills. It is a miracle that it has survived over the years. The ponds are dry due to leaks and need a benefactor to step up and offer a "challenge grant" to repair them. Water would add so much to the garden complex and move it from a 4 to a 5. The flowers were in bloom and the opportunity for pictures is everywhere. No fee, so a family can enjoy a visit here and then a picnic on the grounds. With everything so expensive in Banff it is nice to see a few things people can enjoy for free. We combined this visit with Bow Falls and Surprise Corner and lunch at the Banff Springs Hotel. easy access and parking. Easy to find as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's a beautiful garden park. We renewed out vows there this summer and the setting could not have been more perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mosquito Garden!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited: July 2013.

Access: Short distance from downtown Banff, continuing on Banff ave to the very end and crossing the bridge. Parking is available inside the garden but may be busy. We originally went on a Friday around 11 am and the lot was full. We returned the next day at 9:30 am and the lot was mostly empty. One can also simply park around downtown and walk over.

Be warned that mosquitoes are ready to feast upon you. I was not able to take a picture inside the garden without getting harassed. Insect repellents just don't seem to work that well in Alberta in July!! We had to abort the visit. I also noticed other people doing just a quick walk about or spending less time there than we did. This was truly a shame as the garden looks really beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fukui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascade Gardens also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing