We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We tried a king room (332) at the Rundlestone for the first time. We used to stay at a different, more expensive, lodge before but it looks like we found a new go to place to stay in Banff! The room was very clean, not just visually clean, it was clean. Spacious and comfortable, decor and furniture were not old and everything was well kept. Bathroom was also spacious and clean. Service was welcoming and friendly. We will be returning on our next visit to Banff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    498
    158
    41
    20
See reviews for
300
587
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This used to be our hotel of choice in Banff but had stayed elsewhere in the last few years. Decided to try the Rundlestone again. They are currently renovating which is a good thing as the public areas and rooms are looking worn. We had a king room which faced out the rear of the hotel with a nice view of the mountains. Nice high ceilings and wood burning / gas fireplace. We did not use our fireplace but still got the fireplace smell from other rooms unfortunately.

The bed was comfortable, but the couch, carpet and other furniture has seen much better days and needs to hit the dumpster as soon as possible. The jacuzzi tub was okay, but couldn't get the water very hot at 10 pm. Not sure why. The toilet and shower are in a separate room - the shower is a fibreglass insert - looks more like it belongs in someones summer cabin than in a hotel. No place to hang your towel and you end up dripping water all over the toilet to retrieve your towel when you come out of the shower. Also, we were only given one small bar of soap for the sink, jacuzzi and shower. Took the soap into the shower and then there was nothing at the sink for anyone to wash their hands. Not a big thing at all, but just something that showed that the little details are paid attention to here.

Heat was difficult to control - the thermostat is right by the entrance door and seems to pick up heat from the hallway and shuts off prematurely. We both got cold during the night as there is just a sheet and thin blanket on the bed. Guess I have become used to duvets in the hotels that I stay in. Strange to have a duvet in Hawaii and just a blanket and sheet in Banff.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, but having to put a deposit on my credit card at check in with a huge explanation that it would be refunded at check out was a bit off putting. They didn't seem to care that I might not be able to pay for my room, but were so concerned that I might cause damage or put room charges from the restaurant onto my bill and not pay for it.

In summary, we were comfortable here, but would most likely go back to the Fox or somewhere else when we come back to Banff.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are interior rooms with a window looking into the pool. No outside light - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We travelled as a family of five in March, 2014. This hotel has many positives beginning with all of their front desk staff. They were very welcoming and helpful. We had a baby with us and they were so willing to work with us to ensure our stay was comfortable.
We used the pool and workout area. All equipment and areas were clean and well maintained. We also ate in the restaurant and the service there was also outstanding.
We found no negatives and would return to this hotel without question.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Front desk staff very friendly. The room was spotless. Our room had a pool view and since it was March the hotel was not fully occupied so there was no noise issue from the pool area. The hot tub was clean and hot! Comfortable bed. Underground parking but be careful if you drive a large truck....our F150 barely made it in. The only complaint was that the room was quite hot. We did not complain...just shut off the heat and it was all good. Wifi a little slow but it's free. I'd staff here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank txlibrarygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently spent a night here. Nice hotel. Comfortable (except for the renovations). Its wonderful to see upgrades being done here. It is clear the hotel is a bit tired; the carpets are worn, the walls could use a fresh coat of paint or wallpaper but even so,.... this is a clean and comfortable place to stay! The bed was very comfortable. We used the Jacuzzi - it was clean and the temperature good. WE used the pool. It has a liner in it. I suspect that this pool needs to be updated or replaced but the liner doesn't really detract from swimming in it. The weight room is small but we saw that is was almost constantly used by guests.

The restaurant in house is a beef restaurant. Great food! Huge portions so please be careful.

I was a bit taken aback by the need to put a $150 deposit on my room above and beyond the room rate! They required a credit card for this. Apparently it has something to do with damage from sports equipment and boots and such, but since we had none well, ....... When I asked the next morning to ensure this extra deposit charge was taken off my credit card, the front desk receptionist assured me that it would be removed and I would see this on my bank statement in 1 -3 business days! Huh? Well, I am happy to report that it has been 5 or 6 days and the initial deposit charge never did show up ... no refund necessary, I guess. Did anyone else encounter this? If so, please write in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are equally excited about our renovations. We have now completed a full overhaul of all our rooms and corridors on our first and second floors. This has included entirely new carpets, wall vinyl, lighting, furniture, other additional furnishings, and bedding. We have also completed some important upgrades to other communal areas including an entirely new hot tub, new swimming pool lining, and new gym equipment. The remaining renovation work for our communal areas will happen within the next two months when we add some finishing touches to our lobby area.

We look forward to completing our renovation work when we do our third floor, which is comprised mostly of our luxury jacuzzi, fireplace and kitchenette suites, in Fall 2014. We are confident all our hard work will provide an even more welcoming, homely and comfortable environment for all of our guests to relax in and enjoy.

Regarding the $150 incidental deposit I hope I can clarify our policy for you. As with many hotels nowadays, we do require this incidental deposit to be covered in some form by all guests checking in to our hotel. This can be covered by a credit card pre-authorization which is basically a temporary hold rather than an actual charge – hence there being no need for an actual refund. This is then deleted by our front desk staff on the day of check-out although the credit card companies can take up to five business days to show the funds as available again. Alternatively, if guests prefer, we are happy to hold the $150 in cash or on a debit card which we are then able to refund immediately at check-out.

We try our best to explain this procedure as best we can at the time of check in and we also notify all guests prior to their arrival providing their reservation is made directly with us.

The primary reason for this policy is to provide us with some sort of guarantee for various incidental charges which guests may bill to their room during their stay – for example meals in our restaurant, Bumper’s the Beef House. On occasion, of course, this may also be used to cover repair costs when rooms are damaged but fortunately this is a very rare occurrence and is not something we look to do if it can be avoided.

If you have any further queries regarding this please feel free to contact our front desk directly – we would be more than happy to explain further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for Newyears with some friends. The room was clean, and the bed was so comfy. They have free dvds at the front desk to borrow for the night, and when i called to ask if I could get a kettle for my room they were up with one within 5 minutes! I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jymm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullibardine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was in Calgary for a conference but managed to get away for a day to Banff and it was certainly worth it. The Rundlestone had a good offer on even though they were busy, it's located on the quieter uptown area of the main road but only a 5 to 10 minute walk to everything you need in town. The hotel has a decent sized pool, rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was the best of any of the places I had stayed (although this was an additional charge). Worth getting up Sulphur Mountain and spending time up there, the views were stunning and too many people just go, take a snap and leave. Plenty of options for food in Banff and don't worry about getting the cheaper option of the Greyhound to Banff - couldn't fault it! I'd recommend anyone to a stay here...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing