We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed 8 nights on a ski trip with friends,firstly the staff were very courteous and helpful,which is a big + in any hotel,the room which overlooked the swimming pool was well maintained and very clean and had plenty of space,the facilities in the room and hotel were fantastic,Wi - Fi worked perfectly,the underground car parking was also excellent with lots of spaces.the location was a steady 15 min walk to the centre of the town,all in all the hotel is very good value for money,i am certainly hoping to go back next year!!well done Rundlestone keep it up!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshiredave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    482
    152
    41
    20
See reviews for
288
571
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I had the opportunity to host a wedding for a friend of mine recently and chose the Rundlestone Lodge for the wedding. It was a great choice! The staff all treated us wonderfully! From the first conversations with Jonathan, Dana, Esther, Landon, Alex and all the others, they made us feel special and made sure we had what we needed. The food from Bumpers was wonderful and all the service great! The renovations look so good. Thank you for all you did to make this special for my friends and for us! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and all the rooms our group had were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Rundlestone for 3 nights during a quick trip to Banff with my fiance. Clean and basic room, very quiet, and friendly/helpful staff. Bathroom was very clean and always had more than enough towels. Wifi was free and worked well in the room. Parking was not an issue for us and there were always enough spots. Only about a 5-10 min walk along the main street to the main part of Banff. Overall, a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warman, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we got married here last may long and had all our family and friends stay here was a great time with amazing staff. we had a banquet room for the ceremony and they did the dinner for us too they allowed pictures in the front entrance way

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were on a second honeymoon. In all honestly disaster stay...Our first night stay was filled with staff partiers, as our room was across from the staff room were they were having a party. We were gone from 8.30 to 4.30 and our room was not made. We spoke to front desk and all the front desk manager did was make excuses for how busy they are...Are you kidding me...you work in Banff one of the busiest places and are not prepared for the traffic inro your hotel? On top of it all the supposed no alcoholic beverages allowed by the hot tub was not adhered to as all the teens and adults were drinking everywhere. It felt more like a frat house then a relaxing stay. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and will not recommend this place to even my worst enemies.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Edmontonian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We tried a king room (332) at the Rundlestone for the first time. We used to stay at a different, more expensive, lodge before but it looks like we found a new go to place to stay in Banff! The room was very clean, not just visually clean, it was clean. Spacious and comfortable, decor and furniture were not old and everything was well kept. Bathroom was also spacious and clean. Service was welcoming and friendly. We will be returning on our next visit to Banff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This used to be our hotel of choice in Banff but had stayed elsewhere in the last few years. Decided to try the Rundlestone again. They are currently renovating which is a good thing as the public areas and rooms are looking worn. We had a king room which faced out the rear of the hotel with a nice view of the mountains. Nice high ceilings and wood burning / gas fireplace. We did not use our fireplace but still got the fireplace smell from other rooms unfortunately.

The bed was comfortable, but the couch, carpet and other furniture has seen much better days and needs to hit the dumpster as soon as possible. The jacuzzi tub was okay, but couldn't get the water very hot at 10 pm. Not sure why. The toilet and shower are in a separate room - the shower is a fibreglass insert - looks more like it belongs in someones summer cabin than in a hotel. No place to hang your towel and you end up dripping water all over the toilet to retrieve your towel when you come out of the shower. Also, we were only given one small bar of soap for the sink, jacuzzi and shower. Took the soap into the shower and then there was nothing at the sink for anyone to wash their hands. Not a big thing at all, but just something that showed that the little details are paid attention to here.

Heat was difficult to control - the thermostat is right by the entrance door and seems to pick up heat from the hallway and shuts off prematurely. We both got cold during the night as there is just a sheet and thin blanket on the bed. Guess I have become used to duvets in the hotels that I stay in. Strange to have a duvet in Hawaii and just a blanket and sheet in Banff.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, but having to put a deposit on my credit card at check in with a huge explanation that it would be refunded at check out was a bit off putting. They didn't seem to care that I might not be able to pay for my room, but were so concerned that I might cause damage or put room charges from the restaurant onto my bill and not pay for it.

In summary, we were comfortable here, but would most likely go back to the Fox or somewhere else when we come back to Banff.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are interior rooms with a window looking into the pool. No outside light - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing