We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our 44th Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We think this is a great place and we were very happy with our selection of Rundlestone Lodge. It was easy to find on the main street through Banff. Our check-in was satisfactory and the room met our expectations - maybe exceded our expectations a little because our room had a balcony. The weather was a little chilly while we were there so the two wood burning fireplaces in the lobby and TV room were really pleasant. The room was very clean and the King size bed was comfy - nice pillows too. The amenities in the bathroom included a spicy lotion, French milled soap in boxes and a Honey shampoo-conditioner combo. Towels and face cloths were very good. We were not bothered by noise at any time.
They have a very nice restaurant here but we only wanted to eat the breakfast buffet which was advertised. Unfortunately only the cold continental buffet was offered on the mornings we were there due to low occupancy.
They have underground parking at no extra charge and once again because of low occupancy we had no trouble finding parking near the elevator we were using.
There were plenty of electrical outlets in the room and the bathroom area. We had to ask to have a lightbulb replaced. The only reason I did not give this hotel an excellent rating was because the hot buffet was cancelled and we had to go out to town to look for a place to eat. This was our anniversary and we wanted to splurge.
The pool area at the Rundlestone Lodge is exceptionally nice. There are sky lights in the ceiling over the pool itself. There is a great hot tub that is right next to the patio. There were plenty of towels attractively stacked on the tables and chairs. This must be a really great place in the winter apres ski. I would certainly enjoy staying here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed here in July of this year with a party of 6. Our room had to seperate bedrooms, one with 2 queens and a bathroom with shower, one with 1 queenbed, extra television and a jacuzzi. The kitchen is basic but ok, with a dishwasher. The room was in the corner of the building, so the wireless internet didn't work, although staff said they never heard about this problem. We haven't had any problem with bedbugs, and thought the rooms were really clean and well maintained. For the last night of our stay we had to move to two different rooms because the familyappartment wasn't available for that night. We got the keys for these rooms already in the morning, so we weren't 'roomless' during the day. Our new rooms were really comfortable and clean as well. There's a guestlaundry available in the hotel.
The hotel looks really nice and has a comfortable lounge downstairs. Pool is basic but ok, with a large hottub. The hotel not exactly located in the citycenter. It's about fifteen minutes by foot to get there, but the location of your hotel doesn't actually mather much, there's free parking and tourbusses pick you up at your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They booked all my tours for me and made my stay in Banff an enjoyable one. The hotel rooms are comfy with a king size bed. My room (212) had a balcony overlooking Banff Ave. Restaurant was good, nothing spectacular. Drinks at the bar were great, although a bit overpriced. Nice lounge with a warm fireplace to sit and enjoy your drinks. Overall I had a great time in Banff and I would definitely stay at the Rundlestone again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightowl1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

we had stayed here before but this visit was definitely memorable. We had pulled our blankets back and found some little unwanted visitors in bed with us. BED BUGS! we had alerted the front desk and to our surprise they already knew. and obviously it was no big deal to them... they were not the ones sleeping there. it didn't end there...the worst part is we took "them" home with us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jewelleeEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

stayed here in the past two years....seemed to be a well taking care hotel...but when we returned this year we had a hard time sleeping nothing but noise...so we complained they said they wouldnt change rooms for us until i threatned to leave then they gave us a better room...so i thought.. we slept good tell my wife woke up in the middle of the night to go to washroom..when came back to bed she seen bed bugs crawling on my face..she freaked out woke me up and i flipped... we caught a couple bed bugs in a jar..the we went to complain... all they said was sorry... no rebat nothing....this was absolutly horrifying....i will never go here again...my wife is now nervous to go into hotels...she checkin our sheets now...

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank frnchboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights a couple of weeks ago. At first it seemed like a good hotel. Our first problem was we found a blood stain on the bed sheets under the pillow which we left uncovered so they would see it and change it. Nope. We checked once we got in later that day, it was still there. We told the desk but nothing was done for 4 days!!

There doesnt seem to be any senior management at this place, its run by kids that don want to help you and dont seem to know anything about Banff itself.
Our other problem was we had some expensive facial wash stolen from the room. All the front desk said was WE must have put it in the bin by mistake! The fact that it was a new full tub and the bin was in the bathroom made no difference. We checked everywhere in our room before telling the front desk but again the kids there just looked at us and shrugged.
I wouldnt stay here again because of this, if you have a problem it wont get sorted.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank The_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

A loveley hotel. Was given a ground floor room and was very impressed on how quiet it was for six nights. The hotel is spotless and staff are very helpful. Free bikes, underground parking and internet. Tried the restaraunt once, not bad but the place was always empty so ate elsewhere. Nice stroll to centre of Banff about 15 minutes. Loads to do in Banff unlike Whistler which I found boring. Can't wait to go back and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else but the Rundlestone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CoppoKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £65 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing