We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A nice and comfortable place to stay in Banff, central and just up the main road on Banff avenue. Home style feeling, check in was good and Jonathan the Asst GM was more then helpful. Parking a bit tight but other than that definately worth staying...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheSeasonedTravelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    492
    157
    41
    20
See reviews for
296
581
38
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, tidy and good sized room and bathroom. Excellent air conditioning. Breakfast in the hotel was a reasonable price and lots of choice. Bar in the hotel was good too. Free and good wifi in our room. We used the pool and jacuzzi every morning - super! Getting around Banff was fine. We had a car but were happy to walk the 20- 25 mins into town. The hotel also had 6 bikes you could use for free. One evening we ate at The Keg which was only a 2 minute walk away in one of the local hotels. Excellent service and fabulous steaks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691Karen2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Banff hotel accommodations are expensive and it is difficult to find value for money. We were previously booked into Brewster but changed our plans and booked with Rundlestone as they have air conditioning and temps in Banff had been soaring before we arrived. The lodge location is in the quiet part of Banff right on the main road into Banff. There was a 15 minute walk from the hotel into the main part of town however, there are good restaurant choices nearby and the hotel has it's own restaurant (Bumpers).
The rooms were large and ours had two queen beds and a small balcony facing the back of the hotel. The room was clean, traditional (not upscale) bathroom with a good shower and water pressure and hot water was excellent. The room decor was not remarkable in any way.... lots of beige. There were side tables beside each bed, a dresser, closet, tv and phone. So not anything one would not expect in a typical hotel room. I do know that the hotel offers suites but we opted for a regular room with two beds. There was also a mini fridge in the room which is handy if you do any shopping for snacks. A coffee maker was also available in the room.
Check-in was smooth although we did have to wait until the 4pm check in time to actually get our room and even then we had to wait an extra 15 minutes until the room was 'checked' by quality control. There is a $150 deposit hold for incidentals which is returned upon checkout. There is also free parking under the hotel which is handy as parking in Banff can be a challenge. The hotel also offered free bikes on a first come first serve basis.
There was also a fitness area on the second floor and I believe there was a swimming pool but we did not take advantage of any of these so cannot comment.
A few downsides to our experience.... besides having to wait to get into our room.... the air conditioning was quite noisy and our fridge emitted a high pitch sound which was quite annoying.
Breakfast was not included with the stay but could be purchased at Bumpers. I was not impressed with the $15pp buffet breakfast.....the usual scrambled eggs, bread, bagels, sausages, a tired looking bowl of fruit, a bowl of yogurt (no individual containers) and at that price I thought it was a bit much. Without the buffet coffee was $4 a cup!!!! However..... a good deal is their breakfast to go which includes an english muffin, egg, cheese and bacon all wrapped up in foil and a cup of coffee in a to go cup. This was only $6 and we chose to have those the second day of our stay.
For the price, I might choose to stay here again but I would check elsewhere first. Also....if you don't find a place on Epedia or Travelocity check the hotel websites directly. Several of my hotel options showed as not available on Epedia and Travelocity but there were Vacancies at those hotels when I arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room at back of hotel or front where the balconies are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with the wife in late July. Nice friendly hotel with good facilities. They have free bikes which is a bonus as bikes are expensive to hire in Banff approx $40 per day.

I would say it's about 20/25 minutes walk into town.

Would stay there again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for a night in the jacuzzi loft suite in july. Staff was very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed taking the bikes into town and being able to leave the car in the underground parking. Room was nice, we enjoyed the jacuzzi with a bar fridge beside. Saw some reviews that its a bit far from town but we walked to and from downtown at night time and it didn't take long at all...maybe 10 minutes. Did find room to be a little pricey for one night but we did enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCB842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June on the last week of our honeymoon. Right from the first contact we found the staff to be top quality, and certainly helped us decide where to stay in Banff. We booked into a Rundle Jacuzzi Loft suite, and it was absolutely glorious! The bed and seating were very comfortable and clean, the Jacuzzi was fantastic, such a treat! The staff on reception and in the bar/restaurant were very polite and friendly, and again helpful, and one in particular really put a smile on our faces whenever we had dealings with her (sorry, forget her name, but she was from Lithuania and had long dark hair!). The facilities are great, gym ,swimming pool, laundry room, free DVDs and computers in the lobby. You can even have the use of push-bikes for a few hours, free of charge! As far as criticisms go, there were a couple of minor ones. The toilets didn't flush very well, couple of times they needed a good few goes before they had cleared, and I did hear another patron mention this at the front desk so it wasn't just our room (or me!). It's also at the far end of town, which is fine if you don't mind the 10 minute walk in and like the relative peace and quiet this provides, but if you absolutely needed to be closer to the centre then perhaps a touch distant. The TVs were a bit annoying too, having a 100+ channels but only 20 or so could actually be watched (but who goes to Banff for the TV, right?). Having said that, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and would highly recommend the Rundlestone Lodge to anyone! Oh, and definitely exceptionally good value for money, mustn't forget that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Located on the edge of town but an easy ride in on the lodges bicycles or short drive. Extremely well maintained clean and well appointed. Great pool and terrace area and a coin laundry with free drying - super option summer or winter!!

We were concerned that it was an older property but it soon went away when we saw how well the place has been maintained compared to our previous experience at Emerald Lake Lodge

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing