We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Stayed for one night on a short vist to Lake Louise and Banff. This was our second trip to the area and we took a friend's recomendation and stayed at the Rundlestone. The room unfortunatly had no outside view with the window overlooking the indoor swimming pool, it was a lot smaller than other hotel rooms we've stayed at and as for the beds both my wife and myself considered sleeping on the floor half way through the night. The beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever slept, or should I say attempted to sleep in. Even our 8 year old daughter complained the beds were to hard. The ensuite was very clean and new looking however why the wash basin was in the main room I cannot fathem. Unhygenice to have to use the toilet then touch door handles to get to the sink to wash your hands.
Have stayed at there sister hotel High Country Inn before and although older had a far better stay and would return to it, more than I would say about the Rundelston.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okotoksthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineRundlestone, Front Desk Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2009

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to offer an apology for your dissatisfaction with your room. When a guest is unhappy with the room they are given we always hope that they will come to the front desk to let us know so that we can try our best to relocate them to a room better suited to their needs. As most of our rooms have outside facing windows or balconies we may have been able to move you to a new room. As for the beds, we are currently in the process of changing to new mattresses throughout the hotel as we try to meet the comfort level of all of our guests. However it is regretful anytime a guest leaves unhappy, and I hope in the future you give us a chance to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Jasmine Baronette
Front Desk Manager
The Rundlestone Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Rundlestone Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2009

My partner and I had planned our trip to Calgary as my brother and his wife have now emigrated and we thought we would amalgamate our annual ski holiday with visiting them as well. As Calgary is a good hour and a half drive to Banff we thought we would book a place in Banff to stay for over a week. After reviewing trip advisor on several hotels in Banff we finally booked the Rundlestone lodge. We are so glad we did, first impressions of the outside, looked great! First impression on the inside, very cosy and welcoming. We were kindly greeted by an English gentleman (well young man) who checked us in, we were advised we were not allowed our ski's and board in the room which was fair enough however the lodge has lockers to allow us to safely lock our gear up over night. This was good as it decluttered our room.

We were in room 268 which was huge!! We had 2 Queen beds which were perfect as my brother and his wife were joining us at the weekend; we were also given a cot bed as my partner’s friend also joined us. The decor of the room was not to my taste however it was extremely cosy and comfortable and it had everything we needed, plenty of towels, blankets, pillows, tea and coffee facilities and toiletries.

Breakfast was great, because we were skiing we had cereal and toast most mornings apart from the weekend we had a hot breakfast (we must say the egg Benedict and scrambled eggs with cheese, was awful, we really want to forget about the taste, we didn’t want to make a fuss as everything else was superb) The staff in the morning were very friendly and always happy to offer us more coffee and endless glasses of orange juice.

In the evening we utilised the pool and hot tub and it was GREAT!!! It eased our aches and pains from the skiing during the day! The poolside was very tranquil and very relaxing; the gym was also fully equipped with anyone’s needs!

We walked into town a few times which only took us 15 mins (depending how far we walked) however the days we didn’t walk (or when I couldn’t be bothered) the two young girls in the front desk were happy to book us a restaurant and a taxi.

The only negative thing we can say about the hotel was the restaurant is in a desperate need of a makeover, we didn’t eat dinner in the hotel so we cannot comment on the evening meals, but certainly the place needs an upgrade.

On the valentines weekend when my family arrived and my other halves friend arrived we were greeted by the friendliest bar man ever James, he was always happy to help and offered us any type of cocktail in the world haha! It was great! There was another young gentleman who didn’t give us his name but he worked in the bar at night as well as breakfast in the morning and he was very very friendly as well.

All in all the rundlestone is extremely comfortable and well worth the money!! I would recommend anyone to stay here as it was great value for money and the staff really looked after us bunch of Scots!!

Thank you Rundlestone for a pleasant stay, could you maybe make some more snow for us for next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed at the rundlestone lodge recently as part of our ski ing trip, the location of the hotel is slightly out the way of the main shopping area but is walkable (however during winter months wrap up warm!!!) on the plus side the ski bus stops over at the inns of bnff hotel which is literally a stones throw away.Overall we had a fantastic stay at the hotel all the staff from the cleaning team to reception and dining were all wonderfull, they were so helpfull, the fitness centre and pool/jacuzzi were very clean and very warm, the hotel offers fantastic value for money, and the jack pine restaurant has to be by far the best meals we had eaten in the whole of banff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

stayed here feb 6-8 for the weekend,upon arrival i was immediatly upgraded to a suite(room 316) instead of the double room i reserved at no extra cost,with a loft and 1 queen and 1 king bed downstairs,loft with its own 1/2 bathrooms and tv were extremely clean and spacious,staff was very friendly,only dissapointment was no breakfast service in the dining room..underground parking very clean and secure,gym,pool and jacuzzi....i researched hotels months in advance to making reservations and this is a very good deal... will definatly be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flstfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Very hospital and accommodatiing staff...and the food was exceptional. The nights were cool enough to enjoy the gas fireplace in a comfortable setting with a full compliment of cable tv stations.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Hello:

My girl friend and I stayed at your lodge for a period of 3 weeks, we chose your establishment because it was reasonably priced and had a appealling look from your pictures.

There was great service from all the employees with one that had excellent service. The barman James made us feel at home. Not only was he extremely knowlegeable with the menu and the bar. He gave us information on all sorts of activities. Including the Dog sledding which we found extremely fun, and a little cold. We enjoyed talking with him very much.

What we were shocked to see was he was the only one that could speak fluent english. The other servers treated us well and we enjoyed the company. Although we did find it a little uncomfortable when they would speak there own language while serving. Not sure if they were talking about us or not. It made us feel very uncomfortable.

James gave us great service and made us feel like royalty. Thank you for suggesting the movie.

If anyone gets the chance to stay at the rundlestone, James makes excellent martini's

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ukcouple100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stayed here shortly after Christmas with a few friends, and it was ridiculous. Upon check in, the front desk was wasn't rude, but not welcoming either. We checked into the room, which had a view of the adjacent hotel a few metres away, and limited sunlight exposure to a room that was dark to begin with (decor had lots of rich colors which still managed to be outdated). It was a small room for 4 people, and we didn't have enough toiletries or towels to accommodate all of us. We ate at the restaurant, which in hindsight was our mistake, since there was no one in there during our 3 day stay, and now I know why. My steak tasted like it has been boiled, the potatoes were cold and we could all overhear the service staff gossiping through the kitchen doors. My friends were all dissatisfied with their meals as well, especially because of the price paid ($30ish)

The stay wasn't tcompletely errible, but in comparison to other 4 star hotels, this one felt like a 3 star at best. It feels like the hotel is on the decline; it lacked activity and attention to detail. We paid for this hotel because we wanted to feel luxurious but ended up feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandalloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineRundlestone, Front Desk Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2009

Please let me begin by offering my apologies for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is never nice to hear that one of our guests left with anything but a good impression. We would have liked the chance to change your room for you if we had been notified that you were unhappy. The Rundlestone Lodge definitely lives up to the Lodge style; we have a cozy décor that many of our guests compliment us on and we are sorry to hear that it was not your preference.

Sincerely,

Jasmine Baronette
Front Desk Manager
The Rundlestone Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £82 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing