We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Ardrossan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

This hotel is quaint, and the staff was great - polite, cheerful (but not annoying!) and very helpful. The room was spacious although starting to show its age. When the heat went on, the fan was noisy, but it worked well. The one major downside to our stay was the beds: they were extremely firm - about one degree softer than the floor. Some may like that, but it wasn't even comfortable enough to sit on let alone sleep on. Each room has a DVD player in it, although ours did not work the first night. The staff ensured that we had a working one for the second night, which was really nice. They also have a wide selection of DVDs to borrow (not rent!). The pool is primarily a lap pool, which made it nice for kids & adults alike, plus a nice hot tub overlooking a treed back yard. While I'm not sure I'd go back because I lost sleep there, I would recommend it to a friend who likes ultra firm beds. The rest of the hotel was decent, albeit aging.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    475
    152
    41
    19
See reviews for
285
561
35
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picayune, MS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

The hotel was lovely. Our room was large, clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Nice indoor lap pool and hot tub area. FREE underground parking with easy elevator access. FREE internet. Only drawback could be the 15 to 20 min. walk to the shopping area. This could be difficult in inclement weather.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel in August and found the staff to be friendly and helpfull. The room was well appointed and clean. The hotel facilities were also of a high standard. There is also a good guest laundry that is not listed.Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, we would use it again if we go back to Banff AB.
Ian and Helen Burnett
Cullen, Scotland.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Satucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parts Unknown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed for 1 night, loved the 2 level jacuzzi suite, the pictures do not do it justice.

Check In was great, Check Out on the other hand was.........painful.

Wanted to put the credit card charge on my debit card at check out.

Front desk clerk while chatting on the phone attempted twice before giving me back my card and telling me there was nothing she could do and to "deal with it".

Asked to speak the manager who magically figured out how to use the machine. Unfortunately she charged me for the wrong room, ended up getting credited back the difference between rooms.

The staff doesn't do the hotel justice, it's a beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms however the customer service experience soured me on the stay however it is typical of Alberta Customer Service, maybe if I was wearing a 3 piece suit, driving a BMW and paid in cash they would've treated me better.

For the same price you can stay at the Fox Hotel and from those reviews it appears they actually treat their guests with respect.

Personally I won't be staying here again based on how I was treated but that's my only complaint, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrongBad316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menomonee falls, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

stayed for 4 nights in august and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room...we had a 2 level whirlpool room with the very large tub on the 2nd floor loft, very nice room regardless of price, but made all the better given our rate...also loved the fireplace in the living area and balcony overlooking Banff ave. the only real donside to the property that we noticed was the quality of food in the hotel restaurant, but there are an endless supply of other choices in Banff, so it wasn't a huge deal...front desk staff and cleaning staff were both very friendly...will not hesitate to book there again...we actually liked being out of the center of town, i'm sure some might prefer to be closer to all the action though...only thing that could help the rooms would be a closet or a little more storage area for clothes/suitcases

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Don't let the Lodge name fool you - this is a hotel. Once you readjust your expectations, you realize it is a very pleasant hotel. We got a fairly decent price on the internet and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel room and the indoor pool/jacuzzi area. The only complaint is the bathroom was a bit small and there is no complementary breakfast. But there is a restaurant conveniently located in the hotel (as it seems every hotel along that street has one). Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimborooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Pros:
- Indoor carpark - it was snowing when we were in Banff, and coming from the tropics, the cold was unbearable for us. It was really useful to find out that they had a basement carpark that not only was SHELTERED from the snow, it was also HEATED. it was a relief to arrive back in the hotel every day, especially when we were cold and tired.
- Room was average, spacious for 2 people, staff was very helpful to help arrange for our snow-shoeing day tour.
- It is within walking distance to restaurants, however because it was snowing, we took the car, otherwise it is close to the centre.
- There is a lift that goes from lobby to basement carpark - which was very useful when we had heavy luggages. Not all hotels in Banff have lifts!!

I stayed 2 nights at Rundlestone, and 2 nights at Charlton's. You can read my review there. Rundlestone is SO much better.
- Overall it was a very enjoyable stay, and we were sad to go!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.8 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Property: Rundlestone Lodge
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing