We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Wedding and Highway Noise”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2008

This hotel has become popular for weddings. We stayed here on a Thursday night and dined in the restaurant that night. A wedding was scheduled for the next day and the guests were partying in the restaurant and bar. They were still partying when we left the restaurant at 10:30 pm. Fortunately, we had been warned of this problem by a Tripadvisor post and had therefore asked for a room in the south wing away from the restaurant. But as a result, we had to take a two queen bed room with view, instead of a king room with view, since all the king rooms are currently in the north wing by the restaurant.

Even in the south wing, highway noise is constant, although reduced at night since the hotel fronts the Trans-Canadian Highway.

On the plus side, the view is very nice, looking out at the Banff Springs Hotel rising from the forested mountains. Also, the Muk-a-Muk Restaurant is really excellent, as attested to by many other Tripadvisor reviewers.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for The Juniper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2008

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel at the end of June. Very lucky to be able to secure a room with a view since it was Canada Day long weekend.

Juniper Hotel is located right off the highway. I like the fact that the hotel is located far enough from the crowd, yet close enough to downdown just in case I need to pick up something.

My husband and I checked into room 106, a room with a breathtaking view of Mount Rundle. The room has a door opening onto a deck. I could enjoy a beautiful sunset view of the Canadian Rockies either in my bed or in the chair on the deck.

Our room has 2 beds. It comes with the usual hotel amenitites. Everything was working during our stay. Bathroom is a little small but it can still fit a bathtub. In-room coffee maker is available on the desk in case one needs coffee or tea.

We have also dined at the hotel restaurant, Muk-a-muk, both breakfast and dinner. Service was attentive and food was fresh. I highly recommend the view of the restaurant. Great place to see the sunset or have a romantic dinner.

I understand the hotel is undergoing renovations. New asphalt was laid at the parking lot while I arrived. Other than the minor construction noise, everything was great.

I would stay here again should I visit Banff in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Firstly may I give a warning to anyone planning to stay here on a weekend that you check to see if there is a wedding going on at the hotel. We stayed on the Saturday and Sunday night at the Juniper and experienced noise problems on both nights. We had been on a 6 hour hike in Lake Louise on the Saturday and just wanted to get back to the hotel, chill out and get an early night.......boy were we wrong!!! The disco went on really late and because the walls of the rooms are paper thin you can hear everything. We were staying in a Luxury King Suite which was not cheap, it had nice fittings but this doesnt compensate for 2 nights of no or little sleep. After the disco had finished everyone decided to congregate in the next suite to ours and continue partying until the early hours of the morning. Plus you could hear the over amorous couple in the room next to us making plenty of noise! Better sound proofing needed!

I am not against anyone having a good time, far from it, but I think there needs to be a level of consideration from other guests especially if there is a wedding going on as guests decided to have jacuzzis at 1am. One other problem was that I phoned reception 4 times to lodge a complaint about the noise of the partying in the room next door and nobody answered between 12:30am and 2:00am. I eventually went to reception and there was still no-one around, what if there had been an emergency in the hotel??

To be fair to the hotel, they did refund us for one night's stay, however if you are hikers or couples/honeymooners looking for a peacful stay then please AVOID this hotel. We felt that it really put a dampner on our holiday, the rest of which we throughly enjoyed (Vancouver, Whistler, Jasper & Yoho Nat Park).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hankyspanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Arrived in Bannff and drove right past the Juniper, not expecting it to be right at the side of the highway!!!
After turning around and getting to the hotel we were met by friendly staff and the place looked smart and had obviously had a lot of money spent on it, giving it a modern 'boutique hotel' look.
However when we got to our room we were met by a constant loud noise from the air vents and refridgeration units located on the kitchen roof, it wasn't just a little rumble, this was like being in the engine room of a cruise liner! Any off the rooms on the northern end of the hotel are effected and this noise starts at 6am untill 10pm, not good at all.
Eventually got a room move, the new room was a lot smaller and inferior, but still got charged the full kingsize room rate!
Then the next door neighbours decided to put their heater/ air con on, we thought we where about to take off!!!
If you want peace and quiet, you wont get it here, the hotel had obviously spent its budget on fancy little IKEA style fittings then had to go cheap on the heating/air con system, I think it must have been powered by NASA!!
The Juniper is also a long way outside of Banff town centre, it'd take you about an hour to walk in, via a major highway junction and a railway line (not recommended in the dark). So if you wanted to have a few beers with your meal, you'd have to get a cab or use the hotels 'bistro' which is damn expensive and fancies itself as something Gordon Ramsey would own!!!
We choose this hotel because it had excellent reviews, unfortunately we were not impressed, its too expensive for what it is and the location is terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrapyardnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We had a really nice experience staying at this hotel. There were 5 of us in our late 30's looking for a reasonably priced hotel where we could use it as a good base location to ski the local mountains. Our two objectives were clean and price. This place was exactly that and much more.

The staff was extremely nice and very helpful with all the questions we presented them. They have a very cool little room called the Library were you can watch evening hockey games, or whatever is on TV, while being served pitchers of beer from the restaurant across the hall. The accommodations were very warm with a nice modern update to the entire hotel. Since we had 3 guys in one room, they even gave us a room with 3 beds. Perfect!

Even though it is a 3-5 min ride to town, it had some spectacular views of the valley. I would definitely stay here again. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel with all the amenities then the high rise across the valley is probably more what you're looking for.

This place is a little gem!

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank nudig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

That was a girls weekend out, we all love this very trendy hotel, the service and the view was awesome, located among all the trees and by the mountains, so a bit far from all other hotels, a bit long walk to Banff town center, very nicely designed and use of every inch of space, considering it was build in 1960", a bit small in room size for the price we pay, but overall we are very happy and impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fivesistersvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Stayed here at the beginning of October 2007. It was "off season" so the town of Banff was pretty quiet - the hotel is about a five minute drive to town. I enjoyed the privacy of the room - ours had hardwood floors (one of the "pet approved" rooms). The bathrooms are all slate with boutique quality toilettries. The beds were very comfy and the duvet was quite cozy. Our room faced out to the town of Banff and had excellent mountain views. It was wonderful to wake up to the sunrise over the mountain and town. Had the free range chicken for dinner at Muk a Muk one night - it was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank canabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 juniper way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £74 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing