We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Everybody from my wedding party felt well taken care of and the staff was there for us from check in to check out. The hotel is well taken care of and is in a beautiful location. We ate at many restraunts during our stay in Banff but the bistro at the hotel was definitely the best of them all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronDulmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Aaron,

It was great to have you and your wedding party over the weekend! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of. Congratulations again on your nuptials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    292
    99
    50
    23
See reviews for
193
433
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have stayed at the Juniper four times now and every trip has been wonderful. The bistro has really great meals and the service is always excellent from both the bistro and the hotel staff. They genuinely make you feel welcome. The rooms are always clean and tidy and they have very comfortable beds. No matter the room you choose you will enjoy it at the Juniper.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the side facing Banff and also in the cabins at the back and have enjoyed both equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear that you have come back so many times and enjoyed yourself on every visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I would personally go to Juniper again particularly if I was planning on going skiing. We got a great deal with the hotel and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was also awesome sitting outside in the hot tub looking out over Banff and the mountains. Overall a beautiful location.

On the cons side, the rooms were a bit smaller than I'm used to, and the shower had hardly any water pressure. They also do not have a lift (for those who have an issue with stairs).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! We do operate inside a building that was established in the 1950’s and whilst it is rich with heritage from mountain-goers over the years, that does mean that sometimes the showers do not have as much power and we are without an elevator that a more modern place would offer. I apologize if this was inconvenient. However our staff are always happy to help carry luggage for guests! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay over all and would visit again, we’ll save you a seat in the hot tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Awesome, dog-friendly place to stay in Banff. Friendly staff on arrival, a dog bed with water and food dishes waiting for us in the room. The king size bed was quite comfortable. The room was of an average size but enough space for our gear on our ski-trip and an area to put our kennel. Great restaurant attached to the hotel.

The only downside for us was it can be a bit noisy and the door to the room does have quite a gap at the bottom and the sides which lets in the hallway light and some noise. But, with that said, we will definitely stay here again the next time we overnight in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyguyFroese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us! We’re glad you chose us as a basecamp for your ski holiday. We will be putting in door sweeps and implementing soundproofing measures in the near future to ensure your next stay is even better! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Took the kids skiing to Norquay over the March break and decided to try out this property. We rented one of the cabins for the four of us. The accommodation was clean and very sufficient. It is the first property as you leave the mountain making the location great.
Downsides are a lack of a pool and one very small hot tub for all the clients. Recommend it for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic place to be in Excellent service by Will , late night we had heating issue i believe then patrick came and fixed it. Nice n clean rooms and perfect for ski lovers. restaurant looked great we didnt try it but i could tell it was awesome. Not that far from Dowtown banff 3 min drive and very quite place. One thing it should have is vending machine other then that service and location was perfect. Please do go and you will have blast. My kids loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I will pass on your feedback to the staff you had a good experience with! Hope you come back soon and get to try The Juniper Bistro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

From the moment I booked with the hotel, I had a great experience! When I called to change my reservation the girl was helpful and friendly!
We enjoyed our stay, all the stay was friendly and helpful! I will be staying there again, and telling others about this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us! I'm glad you had such a great experience. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing