We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Juniper Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$167
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buffalo Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$428
US$397
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
457
365
121
59
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
365
121
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorvermillion lakeshot tubmt norquayhardwood floorstranscanada highwayfirst floorthe trans canada highwayoverlooking banffdowntown banffroad noisevalley viewminute drivemount rundlefront desk staffking suitelight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited Banff a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed the view, it really is the best patio, you can see Rundle Mountain, the Banff Springs Hotel very tiny in the distance, and to the right, although not in the picture, the whole Vermillion Lakes. It's a wonderful place to enjoy friendly service and delicious food on a sunny afternoon. And, for those who enjoy a decent coffee, they make a really good espresso allonge. Thanks to Chef Rebecca and Sommelier Jamie and everyone else for taking such care of us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Craig!

Thanks for reviewing us. I’m glad you had such a great time! I’ve passed along the good feedback to Rebecca & Jamie. We hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Love the Juniper, used to be called the Timberline Lodge, they sold it, renovated it, added some extra amenities and fixed the hot tub. The restaurant has a great view, the rooms are comfortable and well positioned. The food is great, the room service is adequate, the access and parking is easy and plentiful. It stands at the base of Mt Norquay ski hill, with the added benefit of not having to drive back into Banff for lodging on ski trips. Very quiet, very clean, very timber lodge like. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hybridfuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It’s great to hear you love the Juniper. We hope you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked by an agent and before arriving I was disappointed by the location out of town but the views were amazing, the food, service and decor were brilliant and I can't wait to return in the ski season!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us, it’s great to hear you were pleasantly surprised! We look forward to having you again in the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an overnight stay prior to getting a flight back to Vancouver. We didn't check in until after 10 pm because of the late arrival on the Rocky Mountaineer, but it was no trouble. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be the lack of a bright central light, so everything seemed gloomy. My wife needed a torch to read the instructions on the coffee making machine!
The hotel itself is just outside town, and seems a Mecca for hikers and other outdoor people.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. I apologize you found the room dark. If you prefer a brighter room, the deluxe rooms are on the south side and tend to see more sun. We also do have spare lighting available on request as well.

We’re proud to be the launching pad for many people’s hiking or outdoor adventures! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were looking for a place to stay that was both people friendly and pet friendly. The room was nice, wood floors, and the staff brought a water dish, bed, bags and treats for our dog. Nice to have a separate entrance/exit door to take the dog for a walk. The restaurant was a highlight as the food was above average. The view was awesome! One thing that was not as good were the wood floors. Great for pets, but not so great for sound proofing. We could hear everyone walking around at night on the deck, and on floors above us. Other than that though, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Lyle,

Thanks for reviewing our property! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on getting better soundproofing for the rooms soon – including door sweeps and insulated carpets for the hallways. Hopefully they’ll be in place for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews