We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style AND substance”
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Style AND substance”
Reviewed 18 April 2009

What a wonderful surprise the Juniper was. It may look like the Crossroads motel from the outside but inside it's everything we like and much more. Think Malmaison but in the Rockies - a super chic London boutique hotel but with prettier views.
The rooms are very comfortable, super clean and have every last facility. Fast wifi, good toiletries, an amazing choice of movies on demand.
The staff are outstanding. We arrived having got our bookings in a twist and came a day early than expected. They changed out booking without fuss, upgraded us to a better room and soon after settling in the maid knocked on the door as she'd spotted two of us and she knew there was only one robe in the cupboard - so she came with a second one. Wow.
The room service menu is extensive and amazingly good value. We ordered snacks which arrived super promptly.
On the strength of that we ate in the restaurant and we were so glad we did. It was the best meal we had in the Rockies (and we'd been there a week by the time we got to the Juniper).
Yes, you are by a main road, and you can hear some noise. But hey, this is the Rockies, not the M25. So it didn't bother us at all. It's outside of Banff so about a 10 minute walk into town (over that busy road) so not for you if you want to be in the thick of it. But if you want a hotel that's a cut above the rest in terms of style and substance, come here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenLeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    306
    103
    52
    24
See reviews for
202
460
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We came driving from Ontario (3,000 km) on an expedition to the west. I receive a special offer in TravelZoo Canada where we payed CAD$72.00 for a double (taxes included!)

The hotel is located outside the town of Banff near Mt. Norquay and every room has a view of the rockies. We had a free upgrade to a deluxe double with a king bed (with dawn comforter) and a balcony with a stunning view (see picture)

The room had a medium size TV but they charge for movies on demand (CAD$13.00) and music on demand (CAD$9.99). You still have regular cable and a CD-radio player on your night table.

A mini fridge, clothe iron, bath robes, hair dryer and coffe maker were complementary in the room.

The only bad thing was the heating system make a lot of noise at night and it didn't really heat up the room, the thermostat said 20.5 degrees but it felt like 15....

Plus we got a 15% discount in the Bistro where the plates range from CAD$10-CAD$40.00. Very elegant by the way.

The Juniper Hotel has a hot tube with a view, excelent for after skiing!

So, overhall, I would stay here again and I would recomend it to my friends!

Good travelling

Patty

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

I travel quite a bit and this is the first time I've been compelled to write a review. While vacationing at my in-laws in Calgary for the 2008 Christmas season, my wife and I wanted to get away for the night and chose to head to Banff. I wanted to make sure everything was perfect and spent a fair amount of time looking for the perfect hotel that's cozy, modern, moderately priced and intimate. We found it all in the Juniper. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the delicious food at the Mukamuk restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is completely renovated and feels much like a boutique hotel in New York city. The views from the restaurant were also spectacular.

We'll definitely be going back and I highly recommend it if you're looking for an intimate getaway.

Helpful?
5 Thank BigPapaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We booked a room at the Juniper mid-week on Dec 2, 2008 for a quick chill day vacation in the mountains. We booked a deluxe mountain-view room directly with the hotel for CAD$72 per night.

When we arrived, there were very few cars in the parking lot and confirmed upon checking in that there were few people booked at this time of the week. Daniel efficiently checked us in and Melissa was helpful in explaining the amenities in the hotel. Later on we asked if there were some playing cards available and Daniel ran out to another building and retrieved some playing cards for us - thanks Daniel for going the extra mile!

We went to the Mukamuk restaurant on the bar side with the fireplace. We got comfortable in front of the fire in the Natuzzi leather sofa and chair and enjoyed some drinks, an order of very tasty chili lime wings and a fantastic seafood hot pot.

Room 103 was average sized with great view of the mountains. After reading other reviews saying this hotel (and yes, even the exact room we stayed in) was too noisy, we were surprised that we really had to concentrate to hear any traffic noise at all. There were a couple of times where we heard some people walking around in the room upstairs but it lasted seconds each time and didn`t happen more than twice so no big deal.

Nice touches in the renovated rooms are new tile, new faucets, small refrigerator, 300 thread count sheets on the beds and complimentary robes - all for $72!

Overall a very enjoyable experience for $210, tax and tip in for one night accommodation with a breathtaking view, 8 drinks and a great meal. We will be booking here again next time we are back in Banff!

  • Liked — The value for the money and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything that matters
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Opsguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Got a promo code from Travelzoo.ca, which gave this hotel a great value for our stay. Being just across the highway from the Town of Banff, and at the foot of Mt. Norquay, this location is absolutely the best.

This used to be a run-down motel since the 1950s., which was renovated in 2004 to the new Juniper Hotel. Beautiful hotel rooms, if you got time, enjoy a dip in their hot tub, which is located outside with the stunning view at the mountains.

But then, since its located right beside a highway, there are occasional nite-time truckers passing by.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SiuBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yardley pa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The hotel sits on the side of a mountain over Banff. Decor was a bit minimalist (some in our party loved the decor, some not). Very clean and well maintained. Location is less than a five minute drive from town; walking is possible, but involves crossing over the highway. You won't do it.

Deluxe rooms are very large and have a magnificent view (especially if you are on the second floor). The other rooms are small and face the parking lot. If you are not going to get a deluxe room, you should stay in town.

The hot tub has as good a view as everyone says; you have to try it.

The hotel restaurant was one of the surprises of our trip. Great food and service combined with an awsome view. It was as good or better than any place in town, and we wish we would have dined there again. As good or better than any place in town. Coyote Grill for breakfast, Elk and Oarsman pub for lunch were terrific.

Don't miss hikes at Johnston Canyon and the Tunnel Mountain Hoodoos.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

With a setting to take your breath away we were looking forward to this stay very much. Reception was swift and efficient, very nice chatty staff - local and from afar - and the reception area was very well laid out. Our room 203 was very spacious and clean - and it had a bathroom that was beautiful in design - lots of wood and slate and lovely fluffy towels and top class toiletries. Beds were very comfy and the quality of the bed linen was excellent.

We had anticipated having a great meal in the Muk Muk restaurant, which has a lovely setting. Unfortunately for us it was very busy and the service was slow and food not what we expected at all. It was a great pity.

Banff is a beautiful town, very picturesque and has lots of shops well worth a visit. We ate at Tony Roma´s one evening and had a superb meal. Also try breakfast at Melissa´s Missteak cafe - delicious food , large portions - we couldn´t eat it all!

  • Liked — The design of the buildings which blended in with nature
  • Disliked — Poor food and service in the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Property: The Juniper Hotel
Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a panoramic view, plentiful sunshine, and natural setting within vintage modernist architecture. Located along the wildlife corridor, the mountains rise straight up from our back door and downtown Banff is only minutes away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. Experience handcrafted cuisine using the finest and freshest ingredients in the Bistro & Lounge! Relax in our outdoor hot tub or next to our fire pits. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide. This boutique hotel features 52 guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Guestrooms are all equipped with an air cooling system, mini fridges, coffeemakers and iron & ironing boards. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Offering personalized, local hospitality; explore a peaceful place away from the crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing