We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, awkward breakfast”
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great reception by friendly young girl. Super room on 2nd floor, very big with a nice view to the Mountains. Private bath and toilet as requested. Very quiet in spite of the number of young people staying there.
But then - the next morning things changed. The new girl in the reception looked like a hangover. The TV was on - with no sound. Instead there was loud music which eventually was slightly muffled on request. Breakfast: A few muffins and oat meal with WATER! "We don't use milk here" the hangover sullenly retorted when we expressed our surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Samesun Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Same Sun for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon travelling around Canada. We decided on a hostel to save a bit of money and it didn't disappoint. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The beaver bar was great fun and we met lots of lovely and interesting people. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was great (and free), simple and limited but we were happy enough with pancakes and maple syrup. We also ate there one evening and again, it was basic but cheap and tasty.There was also plenty of parking and we were really close to all the shops and restaurants, oh and free wifi.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Great vibe, very relaxed and the cheapest drinks in town!
Only negative is kitchen/eating area and showers pretty unclean, even for a hostel. Daily events are available but not very well promoted. Free breakfast, free wifi, spacious room with heaps of storage space and large windows for fresh air in the rooms. Will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a great time. The staff were very polite and helpful. Lots to do and see in Banff, the hostel made exploring the rockies easy and fun. The hostel location was perfect, moments away from everything even the greyhound bus station. Underground parking was available. The food was affordable especially when compared to other restaurants in and around Banff.

Justin C

Room Tip: its all good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JCBC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Look I'm not a fan of hostels and so I don't want to be harsh. But this place was dirty and my room smelt. I think that mainly was a contribution of the people staying in my room but I cried the whole week I was there. I think tis place is great if your in for a big party and don't care about dirty rooms etc. the food was good and service friendly as well as is in a good position but otherwise yuck for me

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, General Manager at Samesun Banff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Elisa G,

Thanks for providing us with your feedback.

We work hard to make sure all our guests are comfortable. Our rooms are cleaned daily and we provide lockers in the rooms for belongings. Additional storage for snowboards or skis is also provided separate from the rooms to keep the dorms as clean and tidy as possible.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience staying with us. If you are staying at any of our hostels in the future and are unhappy with your dorm, please let us know of your concerns and we will do our best to move you to address the problem or move you to a different room.

Thanks,

Tricia Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

SameSun was my first hostel experience. It was a most pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and the help super friendly and efficient. I spent 2 nights there in a 6 beds dorm and slept like a baby thanks partly to their enforced quiet hours and friendly and respectful dorm mates. Breakfast was good quality and the little bar/restaurant cosy and warm. For the price paid it was more than I could have wished for and I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank izzabellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L, General Manager at Samesun Banff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Hearing from hostel first timers, and new converts, is some of my favourite feedback. We take pride in being able to provide affordable, comfortable, clean and social accommodation.

Welcome to the wonderful world of hostelling!

Tricia Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I loved my time spent in Banff, thanks to all the awesome people I met at this hostel. The atmosphere is very lively and fun. I believe the cheap beer at bar and open terrase and space allowed everyone to socialize better. In comparison to other hostels I've stayed in Canada, this hostel wasn't the cheapest but the dorms were large and clean. Also considering the spacious kitchen and common room, I'd say the expense is totally worth it. I recommend anyone to stay at this hostel if visiting Banff !!

Room Tip: 6 girls dorm was spacious and nice :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzi438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £26 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing