We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good accommodation!”
Review of Samesun Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samesun Banff
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My stay in Samesun was triggered by the free breakfast offered and the "backpacker" in it's name. The latter really comes handy, from close location to Greyhound station to free phone calls and super helpful frontdesk-staff.
The openmic in the integrated bar was very atmospheric and made a difference to other hostels I stayed in so far.
I have only one small request to the Samesun-team: re-do your power plugs, some of them don't hold chargers, it's quite annoying to see your phone wasn't charged at night because it fell off. Also, a second pancake station/pan at breakfast wouldn't hurt to relax peaktime for pancake demand.
See you next time in Banff!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lprinz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Awesome staff. Incredibly friendly and definitely will visit again. Rooms perfect, hot water a plus. Dinners were amazing at such good value not to forget the wonderful beaver bar...A gem to stay in..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontopoftheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had no expectations when I got to Banff other than I had no place to stay, I had arrived due to a family emergency, It was suggested that once I arrived, to find a hostel, After inquiring at the local information booth SameSun was the second stop. First impression was awesome and it got better as things went along. It is a unique culture that I felt very comfortable in from great service, go out the way to assist you, to the other guests that you become friends with. Due to the limited availability I was booked in two different rooms for the two night stay. They have special day storage for those situations so my luggage was taken care of as a traveled back and forth from the hospital or a bit time playing tourist. Good Job SameSun Banff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smilie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really loved to stay in Same Sun Baff. It is very well located, friendly staff, clean room, everything you need is provided there and food was very good. I would like to stay in other Same Sun the next time I travel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fun inteersting and clean is how I would begin. This Samesun Hostel in Banff has pretty much all the facilities you need. Friendly staff, a fun bar with entertainment of sorts on every night, clean rooms and bathrooms, laundry facilities and in walking distance of the town. Deffo would stay there again.

Room Tip: Smaller dorms, though that's really the best idea for any hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Looschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It had been over 20 yrs since my last visit to Banff where I had stayed in another hostel. This time while on a business trip, I had taken my 18 yr old daughter to experience what I had during my youth. Everything was as expected, I roomed with 5 other gents, my night ending at 11, while the others stumbled in at various times. The nice thing with SameSun was the continental breakfast and bar that was open during the evening for cold drinks after a long day of hiking. My daughter met a lot of young people and caught the travelling itch and actually applied for a job at the hostel while we were there. Great, friendly staff and a great price(mainly because of breakfast and bar). If you're looking for affordable lodging with a comfortable atmosphere then SameSun is the place. Hope I don't have to wait another 20 yrs before I get back to Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

everything was good at samesun, i had a problem with the guys in my room snoring all night, four of us woke them several times but they had no concern for our sleep. that doesnt impact on the hostel, just a personal experience while im there. everything was clean and the beds were comfortable.. i would definitely stay there again but bring some earbuds next time haha.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bakes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
827 reviews
1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Banff

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly SameSun Backpacker Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £25 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Banff 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Samesun Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing