We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet & Comfortable”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Located on the far edge of Banff, this quiet motel was perfect for our one night stopover on the way to BC. The room was clean and the beds comfortable for our family of 4. Lots of space in the room for stuff and recharging electronics.
I liked how the room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and how there was a balcony and windows that open. It would get quite warm though if it was more than +20 during the day.
Overall a lovely, reasonably priced stay for a quick stop.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Bumpers Inn is well located on the east end of town, about a block from the main drag, next to a pleasant grove of trees. If you feel like walking a mile or a bit more, you can explore the main street on foot.

Our room on the second level was quiet and spacious, with a comfortable bed, and although the building isn't close to being new, it is well maintained. For $140 per night, one might hope for more luxury (and at least a continental breakfast), but this is Banff, and location is a major determiner of price.

It was in the mid 80s (Fahrenheit, of course) when we arrived in Banff. The rooms at Bumpers do not have air conditioning, but since temperatures in the area tend to cool down considerably at night, we didn't give the matter much thought. Unfortunately, by 9:00 pm, and despite leaving our windows open, the temperature in our room was still at 79 degrees. I went to the office to request a fan, and was told that all the available fans had been given out. Our room remained uncomfortably hot throughout the night -- testimony, perhaps, to the building's insulation, but not to its comfort level on during our mid-July stay.

Wi-fi is available, but it was extremely slow, and the signal was very weak (it may be better in rooms closer to the router, wherever that may be).

Room Tip: First-floor rooms *might* be a bit cooler during hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Bumpers is on the edge of the main town area. I wouldn't say it is walkable to the city center. By that I mean you could walk it, but there really isn't much to see until you get close to the center of town. The rooms are, "roomy" and vaulted ceilings were in the 2nd floor room in which we stayed. The room was great. No A/C, you can open windows, but they look inward to the common courtyard, so the folks on the other side of the that court yard are also doing the same. It is located next to a wooded area and the hotel benefits from the shade and cooler breeze.
I would recommend this as a good budget stay with basic services fitted to the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seashark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were looking for a not to pricey place for a ski weekend. Bumpers fit the bill. Price was at the $100.00 mark, which was well within our budget. Check in was easy and staff were helpful with any Banff questions. Rooms were a good size and clean. There was WIFI and parking by your door. For a simple motel I rate it as better than most.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a nice stay in Bumpers inn. The Inn is located not far from the town center; a short drive and easy parking at least in May (I can imagine in high season it would be very difficult); otherwise a 15 minute walk or the bus (which we did not use) which stops right outside.
Considering the inflated prices of the restaurants in town, the refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker were a blessing.
Every staff member I had contact with were excellent, very helpful and courteous and friendly.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
The only negative was the erratic wifi. If I could knock off a quarter of a "star" for that I would.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank lawrenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I had been to Banff for the first time and planned to stay at bumpers inn.. I was at first doubtful because I have never been here and the rating was OK. But I feel that this is a very good place to stay. It had all the required essentials that made the stay comfortable.

The staff were very friendly. They have cleaned the room very well.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who would go to Banff and look for a low priced hotel...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Viswanadha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks while we looked for work and some more permanent accommodation and we couldn't have been happier. Quiet part of town but only a 10/15 minute walk to the centre, lovely room with a super comfortable bed, microwave, fridge and satellite tele. And this was the cheapest place to stay out of all the hotels. Staff couldn't be nicer and were so helpful. Would stay again and recommend to friends / family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Georace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#31 of 33 in Banff
1,246 reviews
1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £48 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing