We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, economical, bare bones lodging” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Clean, economical, bare bones lodging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotels in Banff are really expensive so it's good to have an affordable option. Bumpers is at the edge of town, with a good hike into town center. You do get a TV, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker and wi-fi (although a weak signal). There's no breakfast, but you'll find coffee in the lobby. We were there during an unusual hot spell and there's no air conditioning, but there was a large fan in the room. There's enough parking, but it's a bit tight out back. Try for a space in the front lot. As for food - our favorite is Barpa Bill's for a souvlaki. The shop is on Bear Street but it's definitely worth the trip. If you're looking for cheap eats, try the Safeway for pre-made sandwiches.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    61
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
87
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is one of the worst places I have ever been to. The front counter staff was very unfriendly. When booking we were told the facility had air conditioning. No it doesn't. The room was very hot and uncomfortable. We were also told at booking that there was free wifi. Not apparently for us. We spoke to every other customer we met and all had free wifi. I find nothing about this facility to recommend at all. I've never before been so put off by any hotel we've stayed in to prompt me to write this review. While writing this review we can hear our neighbours also complaining about this facility.
It's absolutely ruined what should have been a lovely visit to Banff.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendyhorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and well looked after but are a bit dated. As has been mentioned in other reviews there is no airconditioning it didn't worry me but it was a tad warm at night. The staff are nice and are willing to go the extra mile for guests

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MGM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Bumper's Inn upon our arrival to Banff. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The scent of pine wafted through the room from the surrounding pine forest. We felt the property met our needs and was very reasonably priced. Office staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was one of our poorest motel experiences ever. We arrived to stay on one of the hottest days of the year. We had had a very good day driving the Icefield parkway between Jasper and Banff and were ready for a bit of relaxation at our motel. That was not to be. We guessed we were in a bit of trouble upon arrival, finding a " Be back in 15 minutes sign on the door to the lobby and of course not knowing which end of the 15 minutes we were on. The clerk arrived back about 10 minutes later to check us in. His overly animated manner made me even more concerned. But it was the room that said it all. The room was an oven and there was no air conditioning. It was hard to believe how hot it was. Seeing our clerk in the courtyard, I asked, "Is there no AC here. His response was No Sorry. The night was a very painful experience as the room NEVER cooled down, even though we were deep in the mountains. This was due to a extreme lack of circulation. There were only two small window to open and no chance for cross ventilation.

As well it was apparent that this place is being neglected. Regular maintenance is not being done.

I would suggest staying clear of Bumper Inn unless you are a teenage skier looking for a great motel to get drunk and raise hell in during ski season. That would be all it might work for.

You may ask why we stayed. Well, we had reserved with 48 hour cancellation charge in play. As well this is Banff in high season. We were travelling with friends and knew that getting a reasonable motel with two rooms was not going to happen. After the night we had....we should have scratched and clawed to get out of this situation and to seek out an alternative. But you know when you are travelling and hot and tired, it's really not what you want to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We lucked out! Had reservations at a B&B in Canmore but received a cancellation due to owner family crisis. Found Bumper Inn in Banff on TA. Canmore was frequently recommended on TA for it's slower pace.

Glad we booked, as Bumper Inn turned out to be located just as you enter Banff from the highway. Not a Fairmont - but clean, roomy, comfortable bed and nice shower. For the money, I don't think we could have done better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Comfy bed, fridge, m/wave & coffee maker were appreciated. However, there were only two table lamps - no ceiling lights. You could only read in daylight if you sat at the window & not at all after dark. There was no A/C, temp of 36c -28c, only two small windows to open. We sweltered all night. The window looked out on a busy walkway, no blinds or nets - everybody could & did look in as they went past. Wouldn't recommend this Inn, it may be cheap by Banff's standard, but in a six week trip in U.S.A & Canada it was one of the most expensive we stayed in but not one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#20 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing