We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff hot springs”

Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Ranked #29 of 90 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cave and Basin National Historic site in Alberta's Banff National Park requires a day pass to enjoy and it is worth the price to visit the area culminating in a natural hot springs.

Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveandBasin, Public Relations Manager at Cave and Basin National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your excellent review - we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"snails"
in 105 reviews
"hot springs"
in 169 reviews
"canada's national parks"
in 32 reviews
"rotten eggs"
in 20 reviews
"internment camps"
in 15 reviews
"discovery pass"
in 23 reviews
"guided tour"
in 22 reviews
"parks pass"
in 24 reviews
"free entry"
in 14 reviews
"interesting history"
in 31 reviews
"sulphur smell"
in 16 reviews
"canadian history"
in 13 reviews
"interesting place"
in 17 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 15 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 16 reviews
"rainy day"
in 23 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 17 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took the tour with Leah and are so pleased that we did! Leah took us on a journey from thousands of years ago right up till the brothers discovered the hot springs! Fantastic narrated tour with opportunities to ask questions. Thank you Leah, I now feel like I have a great understanding of how Banff and the National Parks began. I would recommend this tour to all age groups.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveandBasin, Public Relations Manager at Cave and Basin National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your incredible review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the tour and your tour guide (we'll make sure she hears your awesome feedback).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to look for birds and animals. Not much luck for either. We had some rain and it was late in the day, prime time for the animals. Boardwalk is well maintained. Walked past the "mineral hot springs" and that was interesting. With more time we would have gone inside.

Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveandBasin, Public Relations Manager at Cave and Basin National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the excellent review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where it all started! Find out about the birth of tourism in Banff; the start of the National Parks; see the hot spring that has a history way before the earliest tourists...
...and not forgetting the Marsh Loop Walk and the Marsh Boardwalk...lovely open riverside & marsh/pools walks with plenty of wildlife.
There was also a display about Canada's Internment Camps; during WW1 mainly...not sure that an unbiased analysis was adopted; but it was interesting and lifted the lid on a all-but-forgotten part of 20thCentury history.
Recommended...and all within walking distance of central Banff.

Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveandBasin, Public Relations Manager at Cave and Basin National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your incredible review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the site and explored all the trails, boardwalks and exhibits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is full of interesting history and worth seeing. It is just a short drive outside of Banff. Like most caves or hot springs there is going to be some smell. But take the tour and enjoy the beauty.

Thank Dacen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveandBasin, Public Relations Manager at Cave and Basin National Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave and Basin National Historic Site also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cave and Basin National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing