We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views from the top”
Review of Parker Ridge Trail

Parker Ridge Trail
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stunning views from the top”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We hiked to the top. The hike is quite steep, but the views from the top are worth the effort. Don't miss it if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cromansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    57
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You won't find another hike along the Icefields Parkway that gives you such great mountain top views within such a short hike.

The hike climbs quickly and can get a little steep at times, but if you take your time through the switchbacks you'll soon find yourself standing overlooking a huge glacier, mountain river and a natural spring "ink pot."

Go left at the top of the trail and you might find some bighorn sheep scampering by. Go right and you'll get a good look into the valley you just arrived from as well as the glacier hidden from view down from the parking lot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike worth the trip from Banff”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to do a day hike in late August and this one came up highly rates in Tripadvisor so we thought we would give it a shot..

The trail itself is located approx 110 kms North of number 1 hwy on 93. It's on the left side of the road past the only gas station and rip off tourist center (about 20 mins) and it'll be on the left hand side. Signs are marking it. Can't miss it.

The hike is great, we are in decent shape and there was some hugging and puffing on the way up but it was worth it. Best hike by FAR our of the 6 we went on.

Make sure it's a clear day, we we're lucky.. It was pretty much perfect out. Amazing views of the glacier.

If your thinking about doing it... Just do it!!

Enjoy!!

Helpful?
8 Thank keepitsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hike”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We hiked this with our young (6&8) children. It took less than an hour and we all did it quite easily. It afforded us to quickly get above tree line and offered spectacular views. Once you reach the top, someone advised us to turn left, which is counterintuitive, as it is away from Glacier Icefields. This was great advice as it allows you to see the Saskatchewan Glacier, a great place to sit down, see waterfalls (certain time of the year), the Glacier, mountain vistas and alpine valley. We were lucky enough to see a herd of Big Horned Sheep. Well worth the time. The kids were proud to have hiked the top of a mountain.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent! Definitely not to miss!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We walked three trails in Canadian Rockies area. Balu Pass trail in Glacier National Park (5hrs round trip), Lake Agnes Tea House trail in Lake Louis (3hrs round trip) and Parker Ridge trail (2hrs round trip). Parker Ridge trail is definitely the best trail we walked (and least effort). After you see the 3 piles of rocks, take the left trail and walk to the end of. The view is really magnificent. The beauty of the glacier, mountains, and the valley is impossible for the camera to catch, not to mention the peaceful feeling. Give yourself at least 15 mins to just sit there and enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelerN1168OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parker Ridge Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Parker Ridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing