We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Hi, I had a good stay at this hotel, the rooms were clean, large, beds were comfy and had a decent tv with a few channels. The only complaint was that the wifi was slow but it was also ok as I wasn't in Banff to go on the internet all night.

After reading the reviews, I knew that this was 2 hotels combined together but we made it work, there is an underground tunnel connecting the 2 hotels so you didn't have to walk outside. Also, the underground parking was a plus and had lots of spaces.

The hotel is about a 10-15 walk from the "downtown" area, it's a nice walk to see what around the end of the strip and check out all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Not too far at all, on my weekend stay we probably walked back and forth around 3 times. The continental breakfast was ok at best, but nothing to phone home about.

Thanks again for the lovely stay! =)

Room Tip: If you're ok with walking a bit, then this place is really good bang for your buck. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmaphur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you very much for your observations; constructive comments & observations both criticial and positive (such as yours) all very much help the Hotels in their continuous striving to improve in all areas especially when is comes to guest experience.
Absolutely the Spruce Grove Inn is connected (via an underground passage way - out of the winter cold) to the Voyager Inn which is an older property but which has all the amenities for both Hotels - Dining Room (currently open for Breakfasts), Lounge/Bar, Liquor Store, Heated Outdoor Pool, Indoor Hot Tub & Dry Sauna. The Hotels work hard to make the two properties & the facilities work together much like other "split" properties the amenities are in one building & the rooms in another.
The Hotel is very glad to hear that your visit was enjoyable and you got to experience the beauty that is Banff; we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    59
    100
    59
    62
See reviews for
63
130
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

we booked this hotel with "supposedly" have "complimentary breakfast, that was it say's when we were looking at it online, they said "complimentary breakfast", the truth is, they'll just give you a $7.00 voucher. the outdoor pool was shared between Voyager and Spruce.. dirty hotel, but but if you actually care less, then i guess it's worth your money. have to go to the next hotel to get breakfast, which of course was a crappy one. The service was slow, i kinda expected that, because they're accommodating 2 hotels, waited more that half hour for our order and didn't come, so we ended up cancelling it. Just go the Mcdonald's, faster and not going to waste your time. oh yeah, it's not really that close to the downtown area. it's still far if you walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mekeni512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We very much thank you for your comments and observations as all are very helpful for the Hotel and its Team's goal of always striving to improve and develop.
With regard to the "Complimentary Breakfast" you are absolutely correct in saying that the Hotel gives Guests (who are on the "Complimentary Breakfast" rate) a $7 voucher, this is to offer Guests much more choice instead of limiting them to "One".
The $7 voucher entitles a Guest to a Free Continental Breakfast (includes - Juice, Beverage, Pastries, Muffins, Scones, Fresh Fruit Salad, Fresh Whole Fruit, Yogut and of course as much as you want) but also the voucher can be used by a Guest towards any other available Breakfast choice - such as the Hot Buffet, Steak & Eggs, Omlettes etc.
The choice - i.e. using the Voucher - was in response to many Guest requests of not being limited to Continental Breakfast only.
Again the Hotel very much thanks you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Room with two double beds was fine. Very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast is quite basic but there are so many lovely coffee shops and cafes in Banff this isnt a problem. Free parking and wi-fi. 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town but it is a picturesque and enjoyable stroll. Pool and facilities didnt look very inviting so we didnt use them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeatLarge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We thought that this hotel included a pool and restaurant.
These are actually in the hotel next door (Voyager) which has a worse reputation and the Sprice Grove clients are treated worse by sending them upstairs to a room that feels like a school canteen and very unfriendly. There wasn't a guest elevator at the Voyager for my wife who has problems with stairs and had to walk through the kitchen to get to the kitchen elevator. We didn't even try the pool which again was in the Voyager next door. Out of all the hotels we stayed at in Canada, this was by far the worst. Having said that, the rooms were Ok although houskeeping were very slow at cleaning, only turning up at 4pm on our second day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteJFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Spruce Grove inn is an ok hotel. It is a bit dated (like many of the hotels in the park) but has many of the amenities that are needed (but no safe or minibar). We received breakfast as part of the room but it was a very limited continental buffet selection, bizarrely held in a second floor conference room in an adjoining hotel (that had no lift). The food itself was ok but compromised pre bought items including packet croissants which were at best dry.
It is located towards the end of town but with lots of free parking everywhere this wasn't an issue.
The staff were friendly even though there didn't seem to be many if them which meant a 20 minute wait to check out.
On the plus side there was free wifi & underground parking.
We would stay there again but only because of the gorgeous location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

A few minutes walk to town centre ,but very nice room very spacious.A plus for this hotel is continental breakfast is included which is a refreshing change in these parts.good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosee Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My 3 friends and I decided to go to Banff for May Long 2011 and we had a blast! The hotel is quite a ways from downtown, but we got lots of exercise walking everyday! The breakfast wasn't anything special, but we weren't there for the food. The room was huge! Didn't expect that at all, and the service was excellent. In case anyone reads this who was there for May Long as well, we had a digital camera go missing. It's a black Casio in a black camera case. Don't really care about the camera, but having the pictures back would be awesome! If you know of anything please email erinnd_17@yahoo.ca. I would definitely recommend the Spruce Grove Inn if you are looking for a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We booked on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing