We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its cheap and only if its cheap.”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Oyen, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If its cheap and only if its cheap.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

There's not much too this place. Exterior is by far the best part. Rooms are very dated. Breakfast is not really a breakfast. No way can it be one the newest hotels in Banff.
If its part of a groupon go for it, but don't pay over 60 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoWhalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicamous, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday, park out front, check in, and park underground if you can find a spot! Quiet room and beaut view from the balcony but a bit stuffy. Left the door open for a long time to breathe! Breakfast was a little unreasonable, charging 7 bucks for paper plates, no cutlery, cold eggs and hard homefries. Comes with a voucher but it's only good for the empty bag of bread and two danishes sitting out forever and a day. Cereal it is, or repay for a semi-hot brekky. If you're gonna go hot, eat somewhere else. Room was nice though and that's the main thing!

Room Tip: Hotwire it for good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the night . While the exterior looks great, the inside of the rooms need some serious renovating . The bed was uncomfortable and stains were on the top blanket, the shower curtains had hard body wash stains on them, the wifi code didn't work out of the two given and there were beer cans and bottles all over our balcony. Not that we would have needed the vending machine , but thankfully we didn't because they were out of service . The only good part about the place was the underground parking . For the price we payed I would have rather stayed at the motel a block away for half the price and the better reviews. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Calgary26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for ten nights as part of a UK ski holiday package which provided half board - a useful feature if you've been on the slopes all day and don't want to pay the kind of restaurant prices charged in Banff.

We liked the hotel room (we had a superior Queen room, with comfortable beds), the service and the friendliness of the reception staff, but found the menu to be a little limited, albeit with enormous portion sizes, However it has to be said that on several occasions the chef prepared vegetarian dishes specially. On three occasions, at the weekend, we were disturbed by drunken guests in the early hours, a problem which hotel security eventually handled. You might find this to affect your decision to visit.

The modern Spruce Grove is connected to an older building (The Voyager Inn) by an underground passage, and the main reception and dining room are accessible this way. Each hotel has its own reception area, but the one at the Spruce Grove only seems to be open at times of high occupancy, particularly weekends. At other times guests don't get the best impression if/when they take their luggage to the Spruce Grove door only to be to told to go next door. It's not beyond the wit of man - or woman - to be told where to go in advance, particularly when there's a rep . . .

If you're bringing your own skis, you'll need to store them in lockers (padlocks provided free) in a room off the basement car park, accessible from your room by lift. Hotel policy forbids bringing skis and boards into the hotel itself, but unless you're driving, you have to. (Later on, you discover that you can open the garage doors with your room key and walk down the ramp into the car park, and get to the lockers that way.)

We were very impressed by the service we got at the Spruce Grove, particularly at mealtimes, though also because of the friendliness and helpfulness of reception staff, and for providing a free kettle on request!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get the sun but also the traffic noise - irritating if you're not used t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Marie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

As several reviews state this hotel is very outdated. We arrived outside of the building where a sign stated we were to go next door to check in. We went across and then we're told to go back. We were given a room that had no bedding/garbage everywhere overall just a mess.... We went to the front desk and asked for a upgraded room and was told we had to call ahead. Luckily there was a manager there who upgraded us. However this room was not much better. There was layers of dust everywhere...the bed sheets had small holes in them. You basically did not want to take your shoes off. It was terrible overall and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The underground parking was also full and were forced to find parking on the slippery side streets. Please don't waste your money....we used a groupon and it was not a steal of a deal. I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night because we were stopping over heading to lake lousie for snowboarding.

The room was adequate size but dated. The bed was not that comfortable and seemed worn in but the room overall was very clean and sufficient.

The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes away from the main town by walk and they also had undergound parking for your car. The location of the hotel is not that good as it is one of the first hotels in town so it takes some time to get into the main town if you are walking.

The continental breakfast was available till around 10 AM and was located in the hotel next door, we found all of the baked goods to be very dry and stale. They did have cereal and some juices so that was okay. You have to pay extra for the hot breakfast, overall it was mediocre.

The staff was friendly overall but we caught some of the younger staff smoking marijuana in the hotel parking lot! We were not bothered by it but it definetly is something to consider.

Overall this place is only good for a stop over stay, if you are looking to explore the town it is a bit of a pain to walk 20 minutes back and fourth and there are closer places that will charge a reasonable price. We ended up paying 100 CAD for the night.

We will prolly not stay here again unless it is for a stop over and its on the cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsshoker s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spend many weekends in Banff during the ski season and we always stay at the Spruce Grove Inn. Our son trains at Norquay Hill every weekend and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The price is right, the rooms are basic but always clean, the hot breakfast is great and the location and underground parking are very convenient for us. I was extremely impressed with the attentive, efficient and professional management team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sju901165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 32 in Banff
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing