We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay only if it is part of a cheap deal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Southwold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay only if it is part of a cheap deal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

First the good points.

We had a good sized room with two Queen beds. The Hotel staff were very friendly if a bit laid back. However, they were very helpful and most of them on student exchanges and therefore probably lacked hotel experience but they appeared to do their best. Looks good on the outside

The not so good. Walls very thin so hotel needs serious sound proofing. We were woken up at different times of the night by doors being slammed. Coach parties up at 6am or before in the morning and the noise they made was terrible not to mention the long queues for breakfast at 7am in the morning - even worse if you left it any later. Breakfast supplies kept running out. The carpets do need to be steam cleaned or replaced with a wooden floor/tiles like the other hotels. Reception was filthy.

The hotel itself was very tired and not very clean. A bit like 'Fawlty Towers' No hairdryer or fridge is not acceptable.
I would book this hotel only if the rates were the cheapest in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bedded room (queen beds) or an upgrade if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwold9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

big clean room with great bed
15 minute walk to shops
good value restaurant next door for dinner & breaky
staff all friendly & helpful
Banff is just a lovely little town
we will be back
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

-rude staff
-outdated rooms and furniture
-broken furniture
-lacking basic amenities (no fan in bathroom, no blow dryer and never showed up to room when called and asked for one)
-filthy furniture and walls.. Do they ever clean the rooms after??
-filthy floors with carpet that looks it it has never been shampooed or updated since originally being built
-squishy uncomfortable mattresses that will kill your back
-broken blinds, drapes so old they had holes and tears in them
-location isnt the best

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

red deer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Where do I start to explain this bad experience....
First issue: I called earlier in the day to make sure the room we would be in would have a fridge, since I can only eat certain foods so its easier to bring my own. The person I spoke to assured me there would be a fridge. After checking in we proceeded up to the room to find a very basic, unwelcoming room with no fridge! There was clearly an opening for a fridge where housekeeping had placed an ice bucket ... this made me laugh a little! I called down to the front desk three times with no answer. I was very frustrated.
Second issue: Parking was limited, we eventually had to park on the street.
Third issue: Customer Service was appalling from check in to check out.
Fourth issue: the amount of bleach used on the towels, the smell of the towels was enough to give anyone a headache.
This hotel may look nice and cozy from the outside but don't buy into it, we will not be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soph_8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

disgusting.
we only stayed here because we bought a groupon for this hotel at 60% off. we had to check in at the voyageur inn, which is the hotel that is next to the spruce grove inn. it is small, dank, and run down. walking through the Halley to get to our room was indication that the hotel may be out of date. sure enough, we get in our room and it is indeed out of date, however, this didn't bother us.
what made this the most disgusting hotel was that there were long, black hairs on every single towel, sheet, and cover. i was starting to think it was a practical joke, as there was literally one hair on every single piece of cloth in that room. we were so repulsed. we didn't make a fuss and call the front desk, but we were so disgusted. obviously the hair belongs to one of the cleaning staff, because it was all over our sheets and towels. we will be writing to the hotel to suggest that the staff wear hairnets so that this doesn't happen to someone else.
the hotel was noisy, as there were high school students staying in the same hallway as us. the noise quieted at around 11, thankfully.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Too far from town. The hotel needs some attention. The staff were adequate. Wifi was a joke. Beds were worn. Sheets were dated. Lights were too dim. The vending machine ran oit of water. I would choose something closer to town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TripMember024102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyen, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

There's not much too this place. Exterior is by far the best part. Rooms are very dated. Breakfast is not really a breakfast. No way can it be one the newest hotels in Banff.
If its part of a groupon go for it, but don't pay over 60 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoWhalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing