We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night or two”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“Fine for a night or two”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The reception was cheerful and welcoming. Room was fine, good size. Air cond was very weak and wifi signal even weaker. There were moose in the park behind the hotel, so that was a bonus. Bathroom ok but be wary of getting out of the bath, there is only a plastic handle to hang on to, problem for our older friends. Hair dryer didn't work. Breakfast was fine, limited but cheap( for Banff). Could have been better with little effort and attention to minor problems. Wouldn't stay here if I was loaded.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pedroofpobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a former resident of Banff, and coming from the hotel industry I wasn't expecting too much of this stay. I was back in Banff for one night and not planning on spending much time in the room so I wasn't too concerned about it.

The room itself was ok, nothing special, housekeeping was lacking but the room wasn't dirty (imperfections in the way the beds were made ect.) I do have to critique the large glass ceiling height window with no covering that made it impossible to block the light from the room come dawn.

Front desk staffing is another issue. While I don't want to go so far as say they were incompetent, I will say they were unprofessional and poorly trained. While I won't go into detail, a high level shows trouble with communication, ability to handle or resolve conflict (another guest vs. front desk), operation of their computer system ect.

If your looking for a cheap (for Banff) place to crash and you have some patience then not a bad idea, otherwise book with caution.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JumiMclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First off I wanna say that the staff were amazing! As someone that works at a hotel its something I look for! I would like to say that Cassandra at the front desk was not only accommodating but fun! When problems were happening she helped make me laugh, that's staff that you want.
Now...for the rest. The hotel is apart of the Voyager inn and they make you check in there if you come in later than walk to the other hotel. The breakfast is also in that hotel so you have to walk there. And if the restaurant is busy on the main floor well you get to walk your half awake butt up to the second level.....like how accommodating is that!? And if your not willing to spend the $7 for the hotbreakfast ddon't even bother going cause its useless. So disappointed!!!! Dry old muffins, bread, and stale cereal. Yum...... Our room had crumbs on the bed when we arrived, not a biggie. Then we had no iron, coffee pot didn't work and neither did the remote for that amazing 1990 tube TV. The beds were not comfortable and the blanket on top was far from pleasant. If you wanna enjoy your time go some where else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvanee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

No matter how budget conscious you are, I strongly recommend that you never stay at this hotel. Do not book this hotel on any of the booking sites because most will be non refundable and trust me upon arrival you will want to cancel and leave. Our bathroom was covered in hair, not ours! Hair in the tub, on the towels and in every corner of the bathroom floor. Even the complimentary plastic cups had hair between them. The carpet had white disgusting stains on it in more than 5 areas, my family and I literally threw away our socks after wearing them in that room. The ceiling had an unknown substance thrown on it that splattered the wall. I did read comments about this hotel after booking online and attempted to cancel this room 3 months before arrival. However, I was told it was non refundable. The manager said she would upgrade my room due to my concerns based on tripadvisor reviews. We arrived after a 10 hr drive and shockingly the manager said she did not recall our conversation and did not give us the upgrade, I was in disbelief. When I was checking out I asked to have a print out of my room record and there in writing were the notes for our upgrade, another fail on this hotel! Trust me when I tell you, do not stay at this hotel. My family and I travel on a budget but have never stayed in a hotel so poorly run. Spend the extra money for any other hotel in Banff. The first red flag for anyone is the fact the management/owners do not respond to comments on Tripadvisor for both hotels Spruce Grove/ Voyager Inn they really do not give a damn, sad.

Room Tip: Telus signal is so weak wifi not work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hawaii1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
268 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

In a summer where rates are $250 per night and up, you get what you pay for when the rate is half that at this place or the sister property next door (Voyager). Very dated carpet, walls, beds, linens and an air conditioner that barely cools the room.

For breakfast you can have a free cereal and yogurt bar or go next door and pay an extra $7 per person tones dry eggs, dry muffins as well as cereal and yogurt.

Want someplace cheap? Stay here. Want some place good? Don't.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First the good points.

We had a good sized room with two Queen beds. The Hotel staff were very friendly if a bit laid back. However, they were very helpful and most of them on student exchanges and therefore probably lacked hotel experience but they appeared to do their best. Looks good on the outside

The not so good. Walls very thin so hotel needs serious sound proofing. We were woken up at different times of the night by doors being slammed. Coach parties up at 6am or before in the morning and the noise they made was terrible not to mention the long queues for breakfast at 7am in the morning - even worse if you left it any later. Breakfast supplies kept running out. The carpets do need to be steam cleaned or replaced with a wooden floor/tiles like the other hotels. Reception was filthy.

The hotel itself was very tired and not very clean. A bit like 'Fawlty Towers' No hairdryer or fridge is not acceptable.
I would book this hotel only if the rates were the cheapest in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bedded room (queen beds) or an upgrade if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwold9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

big clean room with great bed
15 minute walk to shops
good value restaurant next door for dinner & breaky
staff all friendly & helpful
Banff is just a lovely little town
we will be back
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 32 in Banff
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing