We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay, worst breakfast ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average stay, worst breakfast ever”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Hotel looks great from outside. inside is average with the rooms needing updating. however they where clean which was nice.

breakfast was a major disappointment. I can't see toast, cereal, and yogurt filling you for a morning of skiing. Wasn't worth the walk to the restaurant.

Walk is some distance from town. I'd recommend something closer to town with newer rooms and better food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyken84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Front Desk Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
Thank you for your feedback, just to address some of your concerns. Breakfast is complimentary and not advertised as anything more than express. It’s offered as a quick starter, not to fill you up for a full morning of activities. We do also offer a menu with a full range of hot food and fresh fruit for those who wish to have a little more before heading out for a morning on the slopes.

Our hotel is also one of the newest here in Banff, which we also advertise as being on the main road, but is roughly 10 to 15 minutes walk downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Maybe a bit far out of town when its cold and snowy and you want to walk to the shopping area. The rooms were clean and tidy but there was an ice machine near our room and it was in continual use and very noisy especially at 3.15 am.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliKatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Front Desk Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve the stays of current and future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Unfortunately, I am currently in my room at Spruce Grove Inn writing this - and i have lost internet connection 3 times, as did my friend next to me in less then 20min. The inn itself is somewhat far from the hills, (we were the first one dropped off when entering Banff, if that gives you an idea). However, the staff at the desk have been VERY helpful so far and seem to be very well informed with the area. Our room does not contain any fridge(not even mini one), no balcony, no moisturizer . Ski/snowboards are not allowed in the rooms, which makes it inconvenient. There is ' The Keg' right next to spruce Grove, so they get have that bonus. but I have to say, I am far from impressed with what is provided. my friend would also like to add that he keeps getting shocked in this room.

All and all, good staff - bad hotel.

would not come back here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowboarder13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Front Desk Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
I’m sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel wasn’t what you’d hoped for, but in response to some of your concerns; it is the policy of most hotels in Banff not to allow ski’s and snowboard’s in the rooms. Some of our rooms have balconies, which are also available upon request. There is a small upgrade fee for this. Since your stay we have discovered the problems with our wireless internet and are currently in the process of upgrading our system.

Thank you for your feedback. If you’d like to contact me further, please send an email to fdman@banffvoyagerinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here during the week for a couple of nights and had a pleasant stay. We didn't see anyone in the hotel, it was very quiet. We didn't get room service the next day, but I guess I cant complain since we only spent two nights there. The rates are reasonable and we had the 2 story loft and it was very roomy for just the two of us. The fireplace and balcony as well as 2 full bathrooms was great. Missing was a fridge, since there was a microwave. Would stay here again....the view is nice and the walk isn't too far from the main town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiangirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed at the Spruce Grove Inn for a weekend in the fall. Booked last minute, and was pleasantly surprised. My room was simple, but clean and spacious. The inn is no-frills (no restaurant, no swimming pool), but has a welcoming exterior. It is located on Banff’s main drag, with many other lodgings, but at the opposite end from ’downtown’, which made it time consuming to walk to most restaurants and shopping. Fortunately the ROAM bus stopped nearby, making the downtown more accessible.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We were only staying in Banff for one night, so we decided to stay at the Spruce grove as it was inexpensive and seemed ok. It was great. On the edge of the town, but not a far walk from everything. Rooms were big and cozy, very clean (I actually had a bath i was so confident in the cleanliness!) Check-in was fast, although there was a new girl there, it didn't seem to slow things down. For their continental breakfast, we had vouchers. You sit down, wait for the waitress and she gives you your choices. We had a muffin, tea/coffee, cereal, and yogurt. It was all great and filling. Just a note, Im not sure if this was temporary or not, but you actually go to the hotel next door (they are connected) to check in.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I was travelling to Banff for my annual visit. This time I took my mother with me. I booked Spruce Grove through hotwire. It wasn't the hotel I was expecting. But the rate is reasonable and I had a car so the location was not a big issue.

I was initially happy with my room, facing the inside courtyard with a view of the mountain and fairly quiet. The bed was very soft. I guess it is a matter of what you used to, but it was definitely a far cry from the bed I had in Westin the night before.

Parking was good. The hotel was not full so there was plenty of them. I noticed most of them visitors are on a tour group and got here by bus. I don't know how it would be like if everyone arrives with their own car.

Breakfast (Voyager Inn- located next door) came with the room rate, and it was very average. We weren't given the breakfast vouchers upon check-in, so we had to ask the front desk on the first morning. The second morning, there was no one in my lobby so my mother and I started walking toward the adjacent building. When we asked for breakfast vouchers, we were told it is NOT included in the room rate. Since we didn't like the food that much anyways, we decided to prepare to leave. I re-checked my hotwire printout and showed it to the same front desk staff upon check-out, she asked her manager and said it IS included. HOW UNPROFESSIONAL? My mother doesn't walk so well and they don't seemed to care for making a mistake. All they said is get the breakfast to go. Great. I have to carry two boiling hot coffees and a take-out box with my breakfast. Why couldn't they give me my vouchers when I check in? At the very least, offer to bring the breakfast to our room when i was fuming and complaining profusely.

On another occasion, i overheard the front desk lady doesn't even know where to direct the bus driver to park his bus. They ought to do a better job training their staff.

Overall, better room than last year, but I will probably try somewhere else given I have a choice (ie not booking through hotwire).

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H2bomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 32 in Banff
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing