We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb holiday - snow helped!”
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed in the Spruce Grove for our ski holiday in Feb, we had read the reviews and weren’t too sure what to expect but we’re pleasantly surprised. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated and the pool and hot tubs were the icing on the cake. The skiing was phenomenal – we would recommend going over to Kicking Horse for the day too if you are a good skier – and the bus for the two mountains picks up really close by, although getting to Sunshine was a bit of a pain. We had meals included and for the price we were really happy, although one day we decided to treat ourselves and went to the Keg restaurant (great steak!). We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesNewman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Guest Services Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us. This is the first year of offering a meals/ski package and we are happy you enjoyed it.

Keg does have a great steak!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

Average hotel we got using a blind booking on Travelocity. It is the second hotel on right after entering Banff from east side and actually you need to check in at sister property Banff Voyager. We got a corner room which was pretty big size, not too much view just a street. The hotel itself does not have any facility you need to go to sister property for complimentary breakfast and to use the hot tub and outdoor swimming pool. Hot tub is but is just 8-10 person so on busy day this might be a challenge. The outdoor swimming pool was heated but not enough to make you desire swim outside in winter

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmencita12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The hotel is located in a distance of approx. 1 kilometer from downtown Banff and is ideal for a short stay in the city. The garage parking is for free, the rooms are spacious and clean and the staff can be considered as very friendly. The only drawback is the breakfast!!! Horrible mouldy cereals, coffee brown color and consisting of water and crushed toasted bread!!! I would rather pay more and 10 € for a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

To start we have stayed in many places in Banff and stayed here at the last minute.

The good stuff>>> the hotel looks nice and is newer. The employess are great here and at the voyager next door . Rooms are plain and sheets dont even cover matress and paper thing tiny blanket.

The bad >> do not go here for the pool , which is outside was dirty, half covered even when we were in it which is a danger and hot tub is inside in a hostital from the 1960 s type atmosphere. My little girl got a rash from the pool which in hind sight should not have used. The continental breakfast is laughable. Ordering from the menu was reasonable but keep in mind you will be eating in an old dingy restaurant with snow bums usining foul langauge. The srevice was great. You almost felt bad for employees . Most it seemed worked hard and were happy running a disgusting old hotel the Voyager. If you stay at Spruce grove inn just dont use anything at the Voyager and it will be passable. If you can afforn an extra few bucks a night choose anywhere else in Banff

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Guest Services Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

We do adhere to health and safety standards which are monitored daily and checked regularly by government inspectors. All guest issues regarding pool and hot tub safety are forwarded onto inspectors.

We pride ourselves on cleanliness and great service. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our service and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I’ve been to Banff a few times so know the high standard of hotels in the area and the Spruce Grove didn’t disappoint. No bells and whistles but good value, clean and comfortable – plus it has a pool which most of the less expensive hotels don’t have. There are better locations as it is about 15 minutes walk into the centre but for the price I can’t quibble.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Guest Services Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
There is a town bus available, which stops in front of our hotel every 40min until 11:00pm and only costs $2 per adult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Booked online for the Voyager Inn next door, only $71 including free parking and breakfast. Room we were assigned was located in the Spruce Grove Inn, immediately next door. Included underground parking and wifi for free. Room was on par with a Holiday Inn. Bed was ok, with a thin pillow top mattress. Wouldn't hesitate to book at Spruce Grove again, although getting a room here was a surprise since we'd booked and paid for the Voyager next door. The Voyager is older, and seems slighty dated, though not too bad looking.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Great location. No frills. Check in and free continental breakfast buffet at next door hotel (it's an older, dated hotel, Spruce Grove is much better!) . Free parking too. Obtained a decent rate on Priceline.com. Clean bed and bathroom. Pool available at next door hotel. Feels like a time-share.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £96 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing