We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and Easy”

Tunnel Mountain Trail
Ranked #6 of 79 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Scenic and Easy”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This, along with Johnston Canyon, was the loveliest hike we did in the area. It was a beautiful day for it, not too cold, and nice and sunny. Extremely pretty, and not very steep so you weren't so out of breath you couldn't enjoy it. It took about two hours from top to bottom, but we were in no rush and stopped for photos along the way. A great scenic vantage point of the township and other mountains. Not many other hikers on the trail. Comes in handy to have trekking poles, they make any hike so much easier, and wear good winter boots if going at this time of year. I like walks that aren't so long you get tired of walking. This was the perfect length.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    143
    28
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great finish to our short trip.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We got up fairly early and hiked this trail before check-out time at our hotel. It rewarded us with a pleasant hike on good trail with amazing views in a variety if directions. Not the most arduous climb, but enough to get the blood flowing, especially if you bumped up your speed a notch. This is the kind of activity you can get a lot out of without devoting the whole day. I will do it again if and when I return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredheadsaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prior lake mn
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice overlook of Banff area”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hike is very accessible and rewards you with some great vistas of Banff, Mt. Rundle and the Banff Springs Fairmont. We hiked from the Fairmont for ~5 mile round trip but you can park at lots at trail head to make it a much shorter walk (~1 mile to peak) or walk from town. There is a nice elevation gain and there are switchbacks but nothing too challenging. Trails were snow covered when we went up but never was worried about footing/safety

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT hike”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hike that most anyone can do. The steepest part is at the very beginning. Amazing views of mountains and Banff. This is one of my favourites!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sceneryseeker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mountain Climbing for the Everyman”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't exactly say I am in the shape of my life, so this was a bit of challenge, but not insurmountable. The use of switchbacks make this climb do-able in about 1.5hrs for those less in shape. Don't get me wrong - we encountered several small children who were clamoring up the hillside with ease.

The view was totally worth it though! My wife despises hiking and even she had to admit that it was a worthwhile experience. Plenty of amazing picture opps on all sides of the summit.

Being in the middle of town, this is a quick stop that is easy to get to and can quickly be tackled in the morning after a hearty breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick-Basler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunnel Mountain Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tunnel Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing