We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”
Review of Larkspur Lounge

Larkspur Lounge
Ranked #68 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: US$6 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Description: The Larkspur Lounge is located in the main lobby; come and enjoy a delicious martini whilst cuddled up in front of the roaring fireplace. Relax in the Larkspur either day or night and enjoy lunch or a light snack to compliment your favourite beverages. We offer a wide selection of wines by the glass, rare whiskies, cognacs and other fine spirits. Our specialty martini and cocktail list is an opportunity to try our bartender’s unique and delicious creations.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Visited the lounge on a Sunday at noon. Few tables available on the patio/deck. Nice decor, leather seats, lots of space, family friendly. Menu and wine list fairly extensive and some really nice gluten free, vegetarian, and other healthy options. Had the cheese tray and their version of lettuce wraps. Good healthy and fresh dishes. Wine was nice and the price was reasonable. As this is located right in the middle of the hotel, it can get busy and you get a lot of walk in traffic so plan to come early. Service was friendly but slow. Once you have their attention, it was worth the wait. Good strong coffee ( not Starbucks ). All in all, if you come at the right time, this was a nice experience. Word of caution, parking is brutal. Park up the hill and walk down. Enjoy the view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Larkspur Lounge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Yes, our Larkspur Lounge in located in the main lobby area of the hotel and offers some of the best views in the Bow Valley. Please come again and try our Chef's Lifestyle menu, which offers healthier dishes and accommodates dietary requests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great view, service a bit off”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is located at the Rimrock, a tremendous hotel with impeccable service and rooms. We stopped here for lunch on their outside patio with one of the best views you will ever experience. Free valet makes if very easy. We did get there about 3 in the afternoon, but there were plenty of staff there to take our car and show us to our seats. There were actually a huge amount of people around fixing up everything, probably in between the main service. Was pretty disappointed to wait more than 30 minutes, no water, no menus. There were two standing talking at the hostess pedestal, but they ignored us. While we waited, two more groups were sat beside us, but they got no service either. I finally went up and asked if anyone was working and the girl came and helped us. It was just a cursory help, she went back to talking. We did manage to get food, and about half way through our meal a waiter that was very professional, attentive and on the ball. The meal was very good, but tough to save this one.
Not sure if this is common, but seems like there is a tonne of people making the place look perfect, not all paying attention to the customer.
Will try again, the view is worth it and I do like the hotel. Just disappointing this time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Larkspur Lounge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Our serving staff are trained to greet and serve our guests promptly and it was very unfortunate to see standards were not meet on that day. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assure proper training and coaching will be provided to avoid these situation. We are very appreciative you are willing to give us another chance and we would like to ensure we deliver the outstanding service which the Larkspur Lounge at the Rimrock Resort Hotel is known for. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Every year that we go for lunch, Larkspur Lounge shines. The service, the food and, of course, the view are outstanding.

Again this year we had the nachos, which they changed from last year to be even more enjoyable (we would not have thought this possible).

Nice choice of wines by the glass. We prefer to sit outside on the small balcony, but inside is lovely also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmcaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Larkspur Lounge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review. It's always great to see our service , food and breathtaking views make for a memorable experience. Our patio offers some of the best views in the Valley. Thank you and we look forward to see you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food slow slow sloooooow service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We ate here the afternoon we arrived at the rim rock. The food and cocktails were good but the service was dreadfully slow. Our waiter was quite nice but it took hi move 20 min to come to our table and take our drink order and even longer to acknowledge that we wanted to order something to eat. We were at the table for over 2 hours!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reddeerfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Larkspur Lounge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Its unfortunate to see you experienced delays with our serving team on that particular day, our serving staff are trained to the highest service standards and prompt service needs to be provided. Please accept our apology. We hope to see you again and to give us another chance to provide you with the best service which the Larkspur Lounge is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Rimrock Resort Hotel. The first afternoon we found the corner table in
the Larkspur Lounge with an amazing view. From that afternoon on, anytime we were ready for a cocktail or appetizers, we headed to the Lounge to 'our' table!! Great service and delicious peanuts served with our cocktails and apps!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoozaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgr, Manager at Larkspur Lounge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Indeed our window tables are very popular as the views are breathtaking, glad to see you were able to utilize the best seats in the house each time you dined with us. We appreciate the great review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larkspur Lounge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Larkspur Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing