We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Holiday Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millgrove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Perfect Holiday Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

April greeted us upon our arrival. We had our choice of rooms and we're very happy with the facilities and superb cleanliness. Baked treats awaited us each afternoon, the breakfast was customized , abundant and delicious. It filled us up for a busy day of activities. The private entrance allowed us to come and go easily and the kitchen facilities: fridge, beverages & snacks, microwave, toaster oven, etc were an added bonus! It was a lovely ten minute walk to the busy part of town with lots of choices for restaurants and shopping, if that's your thing, but we were all about the many outdoor activities... Skating, cross country skiing, hiking and the hot springs.
I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoeGIRL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
76
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. It was, once again, perfect for an overnight stay. April served us yoghurt, granola, delicious fresh berries followed by warm pancakes for breakfast. There are always great snacks and a variety of hot and cold drinks too.
Our bed was comfortable and cosy.
Immaculately clean and great to be independent from main home.
We would go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane16milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I travelled to Banff for 3 days for some skiing. From checking in to leaving this place excelled expectations. As a woman travelling alone I prefer smaller places to stay and those that make me feel almost at home. April and Peter are wonderful hosts. The room I had was very spacious with beautiful bedding and furniture. The bathroom had a lovely deep and decent sized bath tub which was welcome after a long day's skiing. Breakfasts were amazing with April offering a number of options including a wonderful baked cheese, ham, bean and tomato dish plus granola, lots of fresh fruit and berries and very good coffee. Jedda and Ruby the dogs were a delightful addition to the stay and were very welcoming - Ruby kept a watchful eye on my breakfast! It's up to you if you want the dogs down in the B & B suite - they are not forced on you but for me as a dog lover, it was a no-brainer to have them there! There is a fantastic little kichen and lounge area that is communcal with the other room - it has a fridge (with all sorts of drinks), toaster, coffee machine and mini-oven. Great for making packed lunch and also has cling film etc. April surprises you every evening with a selection of snacks from gorgeous cookies and shortbread to chocolate covered blueberries and nuts.

The location is excellent and for me a quiet night's sleep was more important than being bang smack in the middle of town. Having siad that, I could walk into town from the house (a brisk and cold 10 minute walk). The house is also really close to the sulphur springs but you would need a car - I recommend going to the springs but avoid 4-6pm if you want a peaceful child-free bathe! It's open until 10pm.

April & Peter both know the area really well and offer all sorts of tips on skiing and visiting places. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes the non-corporate, non-commerical feel to staying somewhere but prefer to be with a lovely family who genuinely and kindly welcome you into their home (remember this is the case even though you are a paying guest).

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms to choose from - go for the one with the deep big bath tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

When we left I told April I was going to write the sort of review I sometimes ignore because it is so good. There is absolutely nothing to fault about the accommodation or the atmosphere of the BnB. I have never before given top ratings for everything, but this deserves nothing less.
The position is great as it was less than a 10 minute walk to town for the restaurants and also on the main route to the gondola.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spotless and even had a double sink. The TV in the room was never turned on.
The breakfasts were varied, delicious and generous. it is hard to leave excellent food but we had no choice at times.
The communal area had access to tea, coffee, hot chocolate, chilled water etc on tap, a fridge where we could store food if we had wished and there were extra treats provided each evening during our stay.It was a good spot to meet and chat to other guests with lounge furniture as well as the dining table.
Over and above all this, April was a perfect hostess. She had the ability to be there when you needed advice or to ask us about our day while also giving us privacy when we wished.
We wrote a blog during our visit to Canada. The start for the day we checked out read 'First a wee rave. If you are in Banff, stay at "At wits End". We have stayed in many BnBs and this was the best ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for three nights and April truly mad our stay the most wonderful of our 7 week holiday. She cooks the most delicious breakfast and there was always added little extras when we arrived home from a day of touring. It was great to be able to unwind in the lounge area and make our own tea and coffee and a central point to be able to converse with other travellers. The room was extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. Thankyou April for our interesting conversations and wonderful advice on where to go and what to see. We can highly recommend to anyone this truly wonderful bed and breakfast in Banff Canada

Room Tip: Make sure the room is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June 2013, the host's were very attentive both april and peter, even when we were trapped in Banff during the floods they supported us and gave good advice and kept us informed, the breakfast is amazing and varied, the room was great, location ideal to walk or drive from. Access to the fridge and coffee making was beyond our expectation as for the treats every day truly thoughtful. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and wished all bed and breakfast were like this one, truly exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lethandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed just one night here with Australian friends. Our rooms were very clean with lovely ensuite baths...ours even had a double sink. The beds were very comfortable and the home quiet...we slept very well.There is a common lounge/dining area and even a kitchen area with a full size fridge/microwave, tea/coffee making facility. The fridge was stocked with a good selection of milk/juice and there were also snacks provided. If you were staying longer, you would be able to make some simple meals for yourself.
This B&B has a great location...close enough to Banff to be able to walk and also walk to the Banff Fairmont and to the Bow river and falls. I would definitely recommend a walk to the falls after eating one of April's breakfasts!
When we arrived April brought down some brownies and M&M's for us to nibble on...a nice treat.
While I thought the website said only a continental breakfast was served, in fact it was a full cooked breakfast and it was fabulous...eggs, crispy bacon, sauteed veggies (can't get enough of those on the road!), and absolutely wonderful sauteed potatoes with cheese. My partner thought he had died and gone to heaven with this feast....and this was not including the fresh home baking and the yogurt/fruit parfait to start!!!
Our host Peter's eyes lit up when he saw the golf clubs in our car, and had we known we could have chose to golf here, but unfortuntely no time. Peter is a golfer,so you might want to see if he would be up for a game with you.
My partner and I are veteran bed and breakfasters and without doubt, this is one of the finest we have stayed at. April and Peter are wonderful hosts and would help in any way that they could.
One last thing to say is that they only have two rooms, and for us travelling as two couples it was very nice indeed to have the entire space just to ourselves to be able to continue visiting in the evening, rather than just being in our separate rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast

Property: At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT WITS END B&B is a clean, updated and affordable property with a great location! Situated across from the Parks Administion Building and Gardens.....just a few minutes walk to downtown and the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing