We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #6 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed here for eight nights and it was perfect for what I wanted. Lovely hosts, great breakfast (loved the cooked breakfast); clean room, comfy bed. Only a few minutes walk onto the famous Banff Avenue. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Liz845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Rocky Mountain B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 10 nights and were extremely happy. The room was comfortable and very clean with plenty of room for all our ski gear. We didn't have a car but the distance to the ski shuttle pick-up is just a 5 minute walk so not a problem. Robyn and Rob are wonderful hosts - very welcoming and warm. The breakfasts were sublime, and I would highly recommend staying in for dinner too. Rob is an excellent chef. Really fantastic value and I would definitely stay here in preference to hotels in Banff from now on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 985SarahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. The hosts Rob and Robyn were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was clean and had adequate space for both of us, 4 bags and ski gear. We had an ensuite which was large and clean. I highly recommend having dinner at the B&B at least one night of your stay, Rob cooks an excellent meal and it was good value. The hot breakfast was also very nice. If you want a bit of extra indulgence, have a massage, it was very relaxing. Great value accommodation, overall it was no more expensive than a private room at one of the hostels in Banff but much nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate_kate082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B! An excellent breakfast gets you started in the morning (besides cereals and toast, a different, warm breakfast menu is prepared fresh every day). Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Take advantage of staying in for a delicious dinner prepared by the owner (we had Bison and it was excellent).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Powderhuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are in our 20's and were looking for a place to stay over New Years. We chose Rocky Mountain B&B mainly because of the central location and that one of the managers is a chef! The food was really great, service was excellent, and the house had a charming character feel to it. This B&B has maybe 10 guest rooms, light snacks available 24/7, message therapy, supper reservations, ect.. The couple that runs it does a great job, and really goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The only 'faults' I'd list was there was only shared bathrooms on the floor we were on, and it's not hard to hear others talking in other rooms when it's quiet. Other than that it's a great place to stay and very affordable!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkp440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Rocky Mountain B&B is situated near the centre of Banff but on a nice quiet street. We were in a downstairs bedroom with out bathroom a little down the hall. The room was clean, and it was handy to have a fridge to store picnic fixings.
Both owners were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about Rocky Mountain was the delicious hot breakfast- something different every morning! They were also very good to cater for me as a coeliac.
A good spot to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW2inCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This was my first stay at a B&B, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. I stayed in one of the Queens with shared bathroom. There are two bathrooms, one of which has a bathtub which was great for a soak after a day of skiing. Both bathrooms were very clean and modern. The bedroom has a small sink and older furnature. The bed was comfortable, but nothing special.
The hosts are certainly the highlight of the property. He was an excellent cook, and very friendly. She was a wonderful hostess. There is a very comfortable couch in the dining area. The building is older and sound really carries. I wouldn't recommend it for light sleepers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing