We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast! :) Great Hosts”
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Montt, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast! :) Great Hosts”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. When booking, the room we told the host that we would arrive after check-in time, which wasn't a problem after all since they left the keys and all the information we needed to have in an envelope for us to pick up when getting there.
We stayed in room 1, which has a queen bed and a sink. There were two shared bathrooms which were really really clean as well as the bedroom.
Breakfast is served from 8 to 9 am. This was my favorite part. This morning they were serving pancakes with maple syrup and berries. Incredible delicious! Coffee is excellent too!
And the price is quite convenient if you are just lokking for a place to sleep.
Beside, the hosts were nice and friendly the whole time :)

In conclusion, this is one of the best B&B we have stayed in :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    81
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
140
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed a total of 5 nights in Banff at Rocky Mountain, 3 nights in Room 3 and 2 nights in Room 5.

It is a rarity to find B&B's in Canada with breakfast and when looking for accommodation in Banff we discovered that not only was it expensive but it didn't include breakfast either. We stumbled across this accommodation that included breakfast and was cheaper than HI Hostel in Banff so booked.

The food was excellent. The breakfast would cost a good $15-20 each if you paid for coffee, juices, cereal, toast and a set meal (which varied each day between pancakes, bacon muffins, breakfast burrito and fruit selections) . The toast/cereal.porridge you make yourself and Rob and Robyn serve the rotating menu.

We took advantage of the $20 three course set meal on three occasions. It compromised of soup, vegetable pasta and a choice of home made ice cream. It was $25 for the chicken meal rather than the vegetable. This was excellent value compared with other restaurants in Banff.

Our first room 3 had a shared bathroom. This was not problematic in the first instance until we had some rather inconsiderate neighbours who sat up chattering in Chinese until gone midnight and didn't shut their door then decided to get up before 6am and use the bathroom next door to us and not shut the door. Really, do you need to shave and clean your teeth with the door open at 6am!! We then went to use the bathroom at the bottom of the corridor and I am guessing they didn't know the meaning of a shower curtain as it was like a swimming pool and the toilet was blocked. We attempted to clean up some of the water on the floor as we felt so sorry for Rob and Robyn who weren't present (the B&B isn't manned after dinner until breakfast). This is not the fault of the B&B as you can't control noisy guests, but rather the room position does not help.

Room 5 was slightly better as it had it's own bathroom so we coped better. The noise this time was the stairs to the upstairs room as the bed position are 'under' the stairs so we were disturbed a couple of times. That said, we would stay here again, but perhaps book the basement rooms as I suspect the noise wouldn't be as bad and they have their own bathrooms.

Robyn is also the sweetest woman and gave us lots of help and advice on Banff and the area. I wish we could have experienced your massage but didn't have time. And Rob, your cooking was the best we experienced in the whole of our Canada trip (including the Alaska cruise).

Thanks

Room Tip: Room 3 is next door to a shared bathroom and can get noisy, Room 5 has its own bathroom but the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaRaRachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

B&B is perfectly located 3 minutes tops walking to the main area. Beautifully kept and surrounded by gorgeous scenery. Very close to Lake Louise and Moraine Lake.
We were in room 8 which included a private bathroom, two doubles and a queen bed, sink, fridge and microwave.
We arrived late and Robyn(owner) left a great note with key and what to do/ where to go. The owners are accommodating and very sweet. Make you feel very welcome.
Breakfasts are great and made to order. We didn't eat dinners but the menu looked good. We booked massages with Robyn which were relaxing and a nice touch that you don't see at many B&Bs. The house is historical and has a few original touches.
Everything was easy booking and we truly felt like we were the only guests. Attentive and remembered us by name. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights (May 13 - 15, 2014) and sincerely wished I could have stayed longer. Friends of mine (a family of 4) stayed during the same time as I, and were booked into room #8 in the basement. Besides the Dad having to slightly "duck" so as not to bump his head on the lowly situated piping, they had absolutly no complaints about the room. It was perfect for them. We all agreed that Rob, Robyn & Kathleen were wonderful, warm & welcoming. This B & B had a very cozy feel to it, guests were respectful of the 'quiet hours' and the breakfasts were amazing. I stayed in room #6 with a private bathroom, which was a real bonus! Rob made an exception for my late check-out and didn't hesitate to accommodate my request to store my luggage there until my airport shuttle arrived at the dinner hour. I've stayed in many Bed & Breakfasts over the years in several countries and would highly recommend this B & B. Thanks again Robyn, Rob & Kathleen (also Sara was very pleasant the one morning she worked the 'breakfast shift'). I wish you all much success with your B & B business & can't thank you enough for your hospitality! :-)

Room Tip: Room #6 (with private bathroom) was located over the front entrance, so very quiet. Perfect for sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a absolutely lovely stay at the Rocky Mountain B&B.
The staff was so friendly and went above and beyound to help us and make us feel at home. The house was always clean and warm and the rooms were cleaned completely every day. We also had breakfast which was included and great, but the 3 course dinner for 20$ was one of the best meals we'd had on our travels. The house is located a three mins. walk from Banff avenue.
We'll def. come back to visit Banff and the Rocky Mountain B&B again. From the 3 danes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Rocky Mountain B&B for three nights.

Robyn & Rob made our stay in Banff a most memorable one. We were shown to the room we booked - a very comfortable room with a private bathroom. We had access to the internet, to a large screen TV in a comfortable lounge area downstairs, to parking spots behind the house and, if necessary, to laundry facilities.

The B&B is located on a quiet street with lots of lovely houses & cottages to look at while on a relaxing walk. Yet, the B&B is only a few short blocks from Banff Avenue so relaxed shopping is right at hand.

Every morning, we were served at 'our table' with Robyn's bright smiling greetings and Rob's chef's quality breakfasts - none of that 'feel free to make yourself something' from a number of cereal boxes, loaves of bread, muffins, donuts, juice and milk containers and coffee pots. As a matter of fact, we visited some others of our extended family who stayed at a major local lodge and we know that we got a way better experience than they did (and for a lot less money too.)

Robyn extended the definition of a hostess and helped us in different ways. She recommended some of the restaurants downtown that we would enjoy going for supper and, most importantly for us, she helped us with getting good seating on our flights back home.

I went from a trip that I didn't want to do to a location I didn't want to go to a certainty that should we do go back to Banff, WE KNOW where we intend to stay! MY WIFE AND I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN BED & BREAKFAST as a place to spend one or many days and nights in Banff!

Thank you Robyn, Rob and Krista for your warmth, helpfulness and a most pleasant and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: It's well worth the extra few dollars to get a room with a private bathroom. Rooms 5 & 6 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitangata, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this B&B and found the rate very affordable, especially considering the great breakfast included. Ourbroom had everything we needed and the dining room downstairs with tv was great. Shared bathrooms were also very nice and never full during our stay. Would recommend to other traveller's.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tatestheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing