We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Banff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain B&B
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Banff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A lovely old building with ten rooms spread over four floors, it is cosy, very well maintained and clean. Close to downtown Banff in a quiet location with mountain views. Adequate parking. Comfortable bed, quite roomy and free wifi. The host was friendly and very helpful. And to top it off, there was a marvellous breakfast. We have no hesitation recommending this place to any visitor to Banff.

Room Tip: Just remember, you have to carry your bags up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    78
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
134
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, it was comfortable the staff was friendly and very helpful.

The breakfast was delicious and the room was clean.

I would recommend this place and would like to stay here again someday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are a gay couple and we stayed here for 2 weeks in the beginning of June. The house is only a few minutes walk in to the centre of Banff, but on a quiet residential street. We had room 7. It was a lot bigger than we thought and was ideal for our stay. It had fridge, microwave, sink, plates, cutlery, and was ideal for making snacks. The beds were probably the comfiest we have slept in. The room was spotless and well maintained. Our hosts were fantastic, giving us advice and asking about our adventures each day. Breakfast was tasty. Loved the pancakes and maple syrup. They also do a 3 course evening meal for $20, which we highly recommend. There is so much to do in the area. We went to Lake Louise, Columbian Ice Fields, hiked the Hoodoos trail, and much more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a road trip, I was a little shocked at the shared bathroom, but that was my fault for not checking the booking correctly. Our room was nice but small, our room was between the 2 share bathrooms, so if one was occupied you could always use the other. The breakfasts were nice you could make your own toast / cereal / porridge, and the hosts would make you eggs / pancakes etc. They also get bonus points for serving on Dudson tableware. There was parking available at the front of the property and a small car park at the back, the walk to town isn't far at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fercoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and our stay was really enjoyable. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Our bathroom was private but separate to the room, this was not a problem. Breakfast was lovely every morning and was always different, there was also choice of cereals and toast. The hosts, Robyn, Rob and Sarah were fantastic and really friendly.
We would definitely recommend staying at this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDeano17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Rocky Mountains B&B for two nights in June 2014. The hosts are great and I felt very welcome. I had room 9 with private bathroom and kitchenette. Location is also excellent. Quite, but close to Banff Avenue (5 minutes walk), bow river and bow falls. Free Wifi worked well and bed was comfortable. A hot Breakfast is offered (first day pancake and fruits, second day scrambled eggs with bacon), along with a choice of toast, marmelade, cereals, tea, coffee, orange juice. A nice and pleasant stay in the Rocky Mountains!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Montt, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. When booking, the room we told the host that we would arrive after check-in time, which wasn't a problem after all since they left the keys and all the information we needed to have in an envelope for us to pick up when getting there.
We stayed in room 1, which has a queen bed and a sink. There were two shared bathrooms which were really really clean as well as the bedroom.
Breakfast is served from 8 to 9 am. This was my favorite part. This morning they were serving pancakes with maple syrup and berries. Incredible delicious! Coffee is excellent too!
And the price is quite convenient if you are just lokking for a place to sleep.
Beside, the hosts were nice and friendly the whole time :)

In conclusion, this is one of the best B&B we have stayed in :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Property: Rocky Mountain B&B
Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1907 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing