We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok in comparison”
Review of Banff Trail Riders

Banff Trail Riders
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.66*
and up
Banff Horseback-Riding Adventure
Ranked #9 of 39 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a side of Banff you can only see on horseback. Banff Trail Riders (previously Holiday on Horseback take you to places most travellers never experience. We offer hourly rides, backcountry lodge and tent pack trips, sleigh rides and more. Get an authentic old west adventure, even if you have never been on a horse before. We'll match you with a horse, guide and trip that just right for your level of riding experience.
NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ok in comparison”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We opted for the 3-hour Bow Valley Loop. The horses were great, guides were very nice and gave us a good narrative. The downside was the fact that 99% of the ride was through woods while I'd prefer some valleys with panoramic views. The mosquitos were vicious - spray yourself with deep woods mosquito spray and do not miss a spot because they will find it!
I don't know about the other routes we could have taken but, if you're looking at great views, this one may not be the best. There were a few nice photo ops but otherwise you can enjoy the quiet, the wind rushing through the trees and just being on a horse.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank OlgaKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    98
    31
    29
    49
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked a 2 hour ride. I was impressed with the nicely cared for and well trained animals especially for such a touristy operation. Horses responded rather well to leg and rein, unusual for a dude-ranch. The ride itself is very easy and therefore good for beginners or anyone afraid of horses, but more experienced riders may be bored. Guides did their best to make sure riders were safe and riding properly and safely, and that riders were both controlling and kind to the animals (reminding riders to keep loose reins and let horses pick their own path up steep hills etc). If you go in with patience and reasonable expectations you will enjoy it, my husband and I did. I am very experienced and he's beginner/intermediate. Lots of parking and easy to find.

Make sure you show up on time, however this is clearly stated when you book.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sometravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Where we are, kids under the age of 13 are hard-pressed to find a stable that allows trail rides. My 6 year old had a grand time. We did the one hour ride just so he could get a feel for it. The guide watched him closely. I felt very comfortable with him on a horse. The guides were really good to the kids and were very patient with the kids who couldn't control their horses. The horses chosen for each person in our family were a perfect match. I wish we had more time to do the longer rides. If we are ever back in the area, I will make the time to do a longer ride. Compared to what we pay here, the pricing was great for a party of 7. It's close enough to town for a short drive, but it is far enough where the city buzz does not affect the ride. We didn't realize until later, but it's close to Cave and Basin. The location is excellent. If you're new to riding or don't have a whole lot of experience, it's great. Experienced riders may lose patience with inexperienced riders who do not know how to follow instructions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSummerRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Explorer Day Ride”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I took the Explorer Day Ride on July 10, 2014 with Kate as our guide. Our group was small for the 8 hour ride which made the Cowboy lunch that much more enjoyable. We not only thoroughly enjoyed the spectacular beauty of the back country of Banff but enjoyed the hour lunch getting to know our group and guide. The Explorer Day Ride was the highlight of my 10 day vacation in Canada! Kate really rocked as guide, chef, photographer and information guru about tips for riding our horses. Shout out to Romeo, my horse who was an absolute sweat heart.

We LOVE Holidays and Horseback!

B Simmons
Austin, TX 78704

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not if you love horses (or animals) ...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a real commercial operation. I dont think they make any claims otherwise ... but I found the rush-rush herding of people and horses in and out of the corral to be extremely distasteful.

- There's ZERO personal touch; beyond that ... once you sign and pay, no one cares to tell you what to expect or when to be at the corral, etc. Just ... "wait over there"
- the "guides" spoke maybe 3 times ... only once to comment on the surrounding environment.
- the horses seemed a bit exhuasted (tiring on even a 2 hour walk over fairly flat terrain with one hill)
- my own horse and my wife's both were scared and timid, jumping at falling leaves
- the 2 hour walk was 20 minutes of getting the horses ready and 10 minutes short on the way back
- the 2 hour ride is like a ride through the suburbs for part of the way and then on a paved road partially. Not quite a "banff" experience if you ask me.
- the obnoxious rancher telling us to "kick the horse even harder" if they dont move.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banff Trail Riders also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Trail Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing