We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covered Wagon Cook Out”
Review of Banff Trail Riders

Banff Trail Riders
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.84*
and up
Banff Horseback-Riding Adventure
More Info
US$835.42*
and up
3-Day Sundance Adventure with Horseback
More Info
US$30.40*
and up
Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff
Ranked #10 of 41 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a side of Banff you can only see on horseback. Banff Trail Riders (previously Holiday on Horseback take you to places most travellers never experience. We offer hourly rides, backcountry lodge and tent pack trips, sleigh rides and more. Get an authentic old west adventure, even if you have never been on a horse before. We'll match you with a horse, guide and trip that just right for your level of riding experience.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Covered Wagon Cook Out”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a relaxing trip out in the Banff area but didn't fancy actual horseback riding. Holiday on Horseback provided an ideal compromise - an hours trip in a covered wagon from the Warner Stables, up the mountainside to a covered area where an absolutely delicious steak meal was cooked and served before we set off back in the wagon.
Delightful scenery, friendly staff, delicious food. Really lovely trip.

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    108
    31
    33
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome ride”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband, 2 girls (age 6&7) and myself went on the 3 hour steakfry. We loved the experience. The girls had only been on horse once before and they were so confortable with the experience. The horses were great and the guides were also great. It was rainy but it didn't bother us at all. I would return again and do a longer ride next time!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyof2beautygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“YeeHaw”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I booked the 2 day Sundance Lodge overnight trip, what an adventure it was, we had the most amazing time! Horses were great, so were our guides. We took off on a Saturday morning and after about 2.5 hours stopped along the Bow River for a couple of hours while our guides cooked up the best lunch ever; then it was back on the horse and we rode through absolutely stunning scenery and even got to do several river crossings. We arrived at Sundance Lodge in the late afternoon, it was such a beautiful setting, a large log cabin with lots of bedrooms upstairs and a very cozy living room and kitchen downstairs. The dinner they cooked for us was absolutely delicious, so was breakfast the next morning. We sat around the campfire in the evening, sang song and made nice smore's. The ride back the next day was just as fun. We were all tired and sore after spending about 12 hours on a horse in 2 days, but it was an experience I will never forget and I just might be back for a 3 day horse back trip into the mountains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonDisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST HORSEBACK TOUR”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and 3 friends did the Sulphur Mountain Ride for 3 hours yesterday at 2 pm. The 2 girls that lead the tour were so full of attitude, rude and impatient. They barely spoke, unless it was to yell at people to keep up. Some of us are first time riders and instead of being helpful they looked more annoyed. There were no breaks in between the horses look so tired and weak we felt bad for them. Holiday in Horseback, when they get your money they don't care about anything else.

They charge $20 for a picture of you and your horse which isn't even worth it because the picture was so blurry. I do not recommend this tour, it is a rip off and not worth the time or money. It was a horrible experience and we will not be going back to them.

I have been on horse rides by Red Deer. Paid $50 for 2 hours and our tour guide was amazing she is very informative and helpful, we got to stop and take pictures of the scenery, and she takes really good care of her horses, they were good and full of energy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank IvanovaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffHorseback, Owner at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you fro your feedback, I am sorry your had a negative experience. You are justified in your complaint. We have taken actions to rectify the situation. Please contact us for compensation. Once again we are very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“3 Day Back Country Ride! Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My 80 year old father had one wish on his bucket list before too late, that being a back country ride through the Rockies! He did it! With the help of our awesome guides Courtney & Emma! The lodge was very comfortable and home cooked food great! Our horses were fantastic. I would recommend the 3 day for those with riding experience and/or adventurous at heart. The Pass we climbed was quite steep and rocky at times. Thank you for helping my father make his dream come true! Also to our chef Kiwi Linda, I will be trying to make your Chocolate Lava Cake and Birds in a nest! Yum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banff Trail Riders also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Trail Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing