We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”

Big Horn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Horn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 9 November 2007

We arrived in Banff by Greyhound from Calgary and were delighted to find the B&B only a short 5 min walk from the bus depot. When we arrived at the house we were suprised to see an elk just outside the garden fence.
Ann, the owner made us feel very welcome and we were very pleased we had our own separate entrance. We had the 'honeymoon' suite, don't expect luxury but do expect clean, spacious and well equipped accomodation and so close to Banff town, just a 5 minute walk. A Safeway was located just around the corner.
Ann came into the suite every day and filled up fresh items for the following days breakfast, croissants, bagels, juice, cereals and milk and muffins. Many people have commented how this place lacked the traditional feel of a B&B, that is more interaction with the owners. This is true as we did not see Ann once in the whole time we were there but we liked it this way, it gave much more freedom.
Only negatives are the fact it got pretty cold, there was only a small blow heater and we could hear noise from upstairs although it never caused a disturbance.
All in all, a good value clean place to stay in banff, fantastic location, we would definitely return.

  • Liked — Location, Value for money
  • Disliked — Cold!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Being used to B&B, I expected a little more from that one, near the core of Banff.

Usually, I choose to go in B&Bs because the owner is part of your trip, talks to you a lot, makes breakfast and either eats with you or is at least near you cooking & serving while speaking with you, and acts like some member of your family.

In this one, though, I felt more like I was in a motel. Ann, the owner, seemed to be very busy, probably having several things to do that day. However, she was very kind & nice, even though she seemed to be in a hurry. She took the time to show us the room and to give us some explanations about what we wanted to know.

Her husband was very kind when we saw him later, as he saw us taking out our luggages from the car, he wanted to help us getting them inside the room.

There were 2 romms in the basement. We had one of them, and never heard our neighbours.

We also had a parking behind the house, but it was very, very tight to get in and out of there, as the yard is in an alley. So, with 2 cars in the yard, you have to be very careful when you get in or out, as it is easy to hit either a fence or anything in your way.

There was breakfast, which was composed of cereals, muffins, & bread, but it was not among other people, as we had it all in our kitchenette downstairs. It was identical to a continental motel breakfast.

It was more a 2 rooms and a half suite than the usual B&B room.

In the morning we were waken up early, around 7.45, by the children running from one room to another upstairs. So, don't expect to sleep later than that time.

We paid $117 CDN for all that. Ann was not very talkative, but despite all the negatives, the place in itself was OK.

  • Liked — Bed was comfortable; Larger than the usual B&B room
  • Disliked — The noisy children in the morning.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Big Horn B&B for two nights in February and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite". Although the room name is a little misleading, (don't expect a heart-shaped tub) it was perfect for the two of us.

It is more a suite than a room: living room with TV and DVD; kitchen with fridge, microwave and breakfast each day; bedroom with very comfy bed and linens; bathroom with nice tub. All for less than I could find for even the most basic of motel rooms in town. And all were very clean. Ann who runs it was also great to deal with, answering my emails very promptly and giving any help we needed.

The B&B is also only a couple of short blocks from the center of Banff, so it was very accessible to restaurants and the grocery store.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canadian_rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2006

The Big Horn Bed and Breakfast on Big Horn Street in Banff is a WONDERFUL place to stay! My husband, my 1-year old son and I stayed there for a weekend and we will definitely be back! It is affordable, in walking distance to downtown, clean, and the owner, Ann, is great - helpful if you need her, but she leaves you to be. Having the kitchenette is perfect for traveling with children, or if you don't want to spend a lot of money eating out. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Liked — Affordable, great location, clean.
  • Disliked — No stove in kitchenette
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chicklityl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Big Horn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 329, Big Horn Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing