We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I arrived in Banff looking for summer work, and upon arrival I asked the taxi driver to take me to the hostel. I had friends stay at the Y the summer before and that's where I thought he was taking me. When he dropped me off at HI I was a little confused, but it turned out to be one of the best mistakes ever.

I checked in and the room was great. Chalet style, with 3 bunk beds, 2 on the ground and one in the loft. The linen was clean and the showers worked well, plenty of hot water. The staff were exceptionally friendly and were great at giving me pointers about where to go to find work (and where to go to celebrate once I found a job!). The communal kitchen had all the untensils you could ask for, and all of the other guests were great.

I later discovered that in addition to HI and the Y, there is another hostel in Banff but out of the three I would definately recommend the Alpine Centre.

Happy adventures!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilirish_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    121
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
21
62
91
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

What a wonderful hostel this is!!!

Ofcourse the place there in can't be better, in the middle of the Rockies, Banff National Park.

The hostel has a great atmosphere, nice personel and very clean and nice dorms.
We stayed at a 4 persons dorm and we even had our own 2-persons bed!

The rooms, showers and kitchens are very clean and complete!
You have everything you wish for in the kitchen.

There is also a laundry, a bar, a restaurant and a free shuttle to the centre of Banff.

I will definitly come back here!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afolkertsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hostel was excellent and i really enjoyed my 3 night stay here.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.
The location is good for hiking and getting away from the downtown areas, but it is a bit of a walk back up to the hostel (the views are worth it though!).
The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were in great condition and cleaned often and the whole hostel was in good condition and well maintained.
Overall a great hostel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed here for one night with 2 teenagers as part of a 3 week road trip across BC and Alberta. As others have noted, it is well paced for trails but a long walk from downtown Banff, There is a shuttle bus that goes on to the Gondola and the Hot Springs. Bus passes were available at the hostel.

This is a really busy hostel and most people staying these seemed to be in the 18-40 age range from many countries. Staff were friendly and helpful but there was always a queue.

The cafe was closed when we arrived but breakfast was excellent with good choice, friendly helpful staff and inexpensive. Wifi was available and working but the computer service was patchy but fairly cheap at $2 for 20 minutes. Parking outside the hostel was free. Key card access to the bedroom area felt secure and they had secure storage too. Lots of outdoor activities were bookable by the hostel and there was plenty of information about the local area.

We stayed in a room in the main building- (the bar is in the basement) overlooking the car park. It had a bunk bed for 2 plus another single bunk over a double bed . All the mattresses were old and lumpy but reasonably comfortable. Bedding was provided- however the duvets on our beds were the oldest, filthiest bedding I have seen for some time and we could not use them.

Reports of party and karaoke nights are accurate. The occupants of the cabins were having a party outside when we arrived and smokers congregate outside the front door. If you want to sleep with the windows open, need an early night or are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

There was a small lounge in the main reception and a larger one in the adjacent building. The kitchen was in the basement of this building too. IT was well equipped with a well organised food storage system but sadly we had to clean up other people's mess and wash other people's dishes before preparing any food.

My chief gripe is that for us, it was very poor value. This is by far the most expensive hostel we have ever stayed in and not one of the best. At $145 for four people for a room with sole occupancy the room was considerably more expensive than the much cleaner hotel accomodation with private bathroom we stayed in downtown Banff. Even if we had remembered the membership cards and got a discount it was still more expensive.

Those travelling in a group should check accomodation prices carefully if they do not need hostel type facillities.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Molette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

very bad value, small room with two bunks and toilet for $150 nightly (member rate). No privacy, security or view. Kitchen often inaccessible with large group bookings.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RueHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

For about $50/person we were able to stay in one of the 2 cabins that Hostelling International has here. They are private, single-level, log cabins which look just perfect nestled below the Rocky Mountains.

The desk staff were extremely kind & helpful. They were busy but didn't want to keep us waiting so they allowed us to move into the cabin before even checking-in. One young man from England was a particularly great staff member and escorted us right to the cabin door to help with the electronic card reader.

The cabin was very clean. Cable tv. Built in faux-fireplace heater along with larger room heater (the room heats quickly & we didn't need them on very long or through the night). Comfortable couch with a view out two large windows. Two large beds were well-fitted with comfy pillows, mattresses, and sheets. Clean bathroom with provided shampoo, soap, toilet paper, hair-dryer, air freshener, and hand soap. A working telephone. And outside the cabin there is a small deck with a wood bench which was fantastic to sit on, relax, and enjoy the fresh air and view of the mountains.

If you're travelling with a few companions or family, this is a great way to treat yourself in the mountains in a private, VERY cozy room.

The hostel has a free Wi-Fi and an affordable restaurant. It's an easy walk down Tunnel Mountain drive into the main town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Beautiful hostel, very friendly, great value.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Property: HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing