We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't miss with Buffaloberry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't miss with Buffaloberry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is a lovely B&B in a residential area, just a very short stroll from the restaurants and shops of Banff Centre. There are only 4 to 5 guestrooms, but that adds to the intimacy of the place, which was built and designed by innkeepers Theresa Gawron and James Bannon. They live on the property and are actively engaged in all aspects of the business on a daily basis. In fact, Theresa and James are the Number One story here: during decades of travel, my wife and I have never experienced more friendly, helpful, knowledgeable innkeepers. They are ready, willing and eager to provide guidance and information, but they also give you as much space as you need. The Number Two story is the breakfasts, which are to die for. We give Buffaloberry two enthusiastic thumbs-up!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We are so glad that we found Buffaloberry through the Tripadvisor reviews. The place is indeed wonderful and the hosts, Theresa and James, are very helpful and pleasant. The house is obviously built with love and pride. Theresa and James are happy to tell you how they designed and built the house from scratch, which is quite amazing in every detail, such as the automation and modern fittings.

The room was delightful, with everything you need from a comfortable bed and pillows, fluffy towels, slippers, toiletries, etc.

Breakfast was great, particularly the home made blueberry buckwheat buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup, one of the best I have ever tasted.

The hospitality was amazing, they make you feel very welcome and at home. It was so comfortable that we did not want to leave, and we started missing the hosts soon after leaving. We would definitely recommend Buffaloberry over any hotel in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband does not like bed & breakfast places. That being said, after reading the reviews I booked it anyway. He's also changed his mind, or it could have just been this one that was so wonderful and different! Theresa & James are wonderful hosts, who are happy to give their input, when asked. They also give you all the privacy you may want. After a day out we looked forward to seeing and talking to them. The breakfasts were wonderful and substantial enough to hold you for quite some time. The accomodations were perfect - clean with lots of room, as well as an outdoor patio and living room with a fireplace. They also keep a stocked bar and refrigerator with bottles of water and soda for those who want. Everything everyone else says is absolutely true. Our visit could not be better. After 4 days there, every other place we stayed paled in comparison!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieGCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We booked 5 nights at the Buffaloberry B&B, based on the wonderful reviews, and we could not have been happier. Spacious, clean accommodations, wonderful breakfasts, and two of the most gracious and helpful hosts we have ever had. Thank you, James and Theresa! This is a real gem in the heart of Banff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickering6371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Slightly off Banff's main drag, which is a good thing. Quiet, but still close enough to walk anywhere you want to go.

Our hosts were the perfect mix of friendly/engaging while still giving you space.

Not cheap, but what is in Banff?

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Converse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Booked Buffaloberry purely on reviews given on Trip Advisor. Stayed for 14 nights and never had the same breakfast twice. Theresa and James are the perfect hosts and are very informative on things to see and do in the Banff and surrounding area. We stayed in the Rabbit room which was very clean and comfortable - a pleasure returning there every day . Oh!! Theresa's home made cakes and cookies in the afternoon went down a treat. Will not hesitate to visit Buffaloberry in the near future.

Isobel & Davie Cumnock Scotland

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed in Banff for five nights and the Buffaloberry was the most fantastic place to stay. James and Theresa were so welcoming and helpful with everything - giving advice and tips on where to go in Banff and its surroundings - and we had a brilliant time. The Buffaloberry is a beautiful place to stay - extremely clean and comfortable room and bathroom - with a lovely lounge where guests can sit and relax after a day's hiking, helping themselves to cups of tea/coffee and a nightcap. Occasionally, Theresa's cookies were on offer too ... delicious!

Also delicious were the fantastic breakfasts - homemade and Canadian style and plentiful, prepared and served by Theresa and James, accompanied by their friendliness and helpfulness. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped in every way possible.

Banff is a perfect spot in the Canadian Rockies and the Buffaloberry is without fault. Theresa and James go out of their way to ensure that you have a good break and that you feel at home in their home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynCBCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry b&b
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing