We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
176
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscanadian rockiesgourmet breakfastother guestsstreet roomquiet streetrabbit roomrooms are beautifully decoratedwelcome homehome baked cookieshelpful in every wayplace to stayfive nightstwo blocksday hikingeach morningbanff area
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry in mid September. The B&B itself is very clean and inviting and everything seems brand new. Our room was very nicely decorated and the whole place is immaculate. The location was ideal for us - close enough to "downtown" for easy walks into town while still in a quiet neighborhood. It was great being able to get around without using the car. The hosts, Theresa and James, were fantastic! A real treasure trove of knowledge about all things local, which helped us greatly being first time visitors to Banff, and very warm and caring. They were always interested in what we had been up to and had many great suggestions. The breakfasts were every bit as good as you will read about in these reviews. Theresa asked about our dietary needs and made special accommodation for us. I can't recommend the Buffaloberry highly enough.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

If you find a better small bed and breakfast let us know. Our room, indeed the entire house, is comfortably and attractively furnished, impeccably cleaned and quiet. All the expected amenities are provided and a few surprises. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hosts, Theresa and James, are a delight to meet and well-equipped to facilitate the guests enjoyment of their stay in the Banff area. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shultsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Buffaloberry is the BEST B&B we have stayed at. Both Theresa and James are very welcoming and friendly. The property is kept in immaculate condition. The room, bathroom and the living/dining area are PERFECTLY clean. The breakfast was varied and delicious. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this B&B. You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

There are a few things that we look for in a good B&B: location, comfort, accommodation, hospitality, friendliness, and, of course, the breakfast. The Buffaloberry B&B excels on all accounts.

We stayed there four nights at the start of our Canadian Rockies vacation. We're not too excited about tourist spots, but that's what you have with Banff. However, saying that, there is lots of nature to enjoy in and around Banff, and we thrived there. Plenty of hiking, scenery to enjoy, and pictures to take. All we needed in the middle of this town was an inviting place to stay.

Driving up to the Buffaloberry we could tell we were on a residential street set back off the main shopping corridor in Banff. The Buffaloberry is set apart from all other properties in the area by a very welcoming landscape of flowers and trees, providing warmth and color to the rest of the neighborhood. We felt that this location was safe, and had no problems ever finding space to park the car on the street out front (although the Buffaloberry also provides free garage parking as well). The Buffaloberry is within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and a local Safeway market.

The warmth of the landscape outside was matched by the reception we experienced as we knocked on the front door and was greeted by Theresa. She welcomed us in, explained how the B&B functioned, and showed us to our room. She also wanted to know what time we would want breakfast, as she would prepare ours according to our desired schedule.

The Buffaloberry house was constructed less than 10 years ago, and was constructed specifically as a B&B. So everything worked well. Each room has its own bathroom specifically designed for it (rather than being a retrofit to an older house). There is a guest living room with a fire place that also doubles as a dining area for breakfast. There is a guest alcohol bar for a complimentary nightcap, and a common small frig for guests to use.

The room featured a queen bed, TV, plenty of electrical outlets, and wireless Internet. The bathroom held a toilet, sink and shower, but no bathtub. (The bathtub would have been nice after long days of hiking.) We found the bed very comfortable, although we would have preferred a king.

Each afternoon there was a homemade snack of some sort (breads or cookies).

One of the highlights of the Buffaloberry was the gourmet breakfast in the mornings. Standard starters included fresh fruit, homemade granola, and yogurt. Then came a masterpiece from Theresa's kitchen. One morning, for example, we had some sort of egg/spinach souffle cooked in a Canadian bacon cup. Every breakfast was unique, every one was delicious, and every one was home prepared by James and Theresa. And, of course, every one was enjoyed in communion with other guests and James and Theresa, sharing ideas on what to do, hearing stories about what folks experienced, and just enjoying each other.

As to hospitality, Theresa and James are both veterans of the hospitality industry and know what excellence in hospitality means. They were warm, friendly, knowledgeable, interesting, and accommodating. Both provided good clues on what to experience in and around town, where to eat, and how we might best be able to spot some of the wildlife (which we did). By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

Overall, we found the Buffaloberry B&B to be an excellent place to stay. We would have no hesitation to repeat our stay there, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to stay - the room was fantastic - well appointed, and so comfortable! James & Theresa, who are lovely hosts, put out a top notch breakfast spread - doing a fantastic job of meeting my gluten-free needs. They could not have made me feel more comfortable - I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpage_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews